WNBA Unveils 30 Nominees for Voting of Top 15 Player Nominees
Four Seattle Storm Players on All-Time List

June 21, 2011

Swin Cash
Sue Bird
- In celebration of its historic 15th season, the WNBA is honoring the most influential players since its inception in 1997, and announced today the 30 official nominees for the Top 15 Players of all time. The Seattle Storm leads the way, along with the Los Angeles Sparks, in placing four active players on the nomination list.

Sue Bird, Swin Cash and Lauren Jackson from the Storm’s 2010 WNBA championship team, along with Seattle newcomer Katie Smith, represent the Storm among the Top 15 Player nominees. All own impressive resumes that put them at the forefront of the nomination list.

The careers of Seattle's veteran crew are highlighted by a total of nine WNBA titles, 19 All-Star appearances and repeated selections to the All-WNBA team First and Second Team. Jackson, a three-time league MVP, currently stands at No. 3 in the WNBA’s career scoring chart, is third all-time in blocks and fifth in rebounds. Bird, a six-time All-Star, is No. 2 on the WNBA career assist log, while Smith ranks fourth in career points. Cash, the leader with three WNBA championships to her credit, was the WNBA All-Star Game MVP in 2009.

Katie Smith
Lauren Jackson

In addition to the four current Storm players among the nominees, three other candidates for the Top 15 Players - Yolanda Griffith, Shannon Johnson and Sheryl Swoopes - previously played for the team.

The nominees were selected by a panel comprised of media members and basketball experts, with consideration given to such factors as on-court performance and ability, leadership, sportsmanship and community service, as well as to contributions to team success and the overall growth of women’s basketball.

“We are extremely proud to recognize and honor the greatest players in the 15-year history of the WNBA,” said WNBA President Laurel Richie. “The women who comprise the list of nominees are an extraordinary combination of ground-breaking pioneers and present-day stars. Each has made a unique contribution to the game, but all share an unsurpassed passion for women's basketball and for the WNBA. It is through their efforts, collectively, that the WNBA has become – and will continue to be – the destination point for the most talented female basketball players in the world.”

Voting for the league’s Top 15 Players of all time will be conducted among fans and select national and WNBA-market media, as well as current players and coaches. Fans are encouraged to vote by logging onto WNBA.com, which will highlight each of the 30 nominees, complete with biographical information and a photo gallery. In addition, the history section will serve as an informational resource for fans and media to browse through career statistical leaders, league milestones, previous award winners and more.

Fans can cast a vote for their Top 15 Players of all time once per day by going online to http://www.wnba.com/top15players starting Thursday at noon ET and ending at midnight on July 14.

The WNBA’s Top 15 Players will be unveiled and honored at the 2011 WNBA All-Star Game, where the San Antonio Silver Stars will host the midseason classic for the first time in franchise history. ABC will nationally broadcast the game on Saturday, July 23, at 3:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. CT).

Individual tickets for the 2011 WNBA All-Star Game are available to the general public at all San Antonio Ticketmaster locations, including by phone at (210) 225-TEAM, or online at ticketmaster.com or sasilverstars.com. Tickets can also be purchased at the AT&T Center Southeast Box Office Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. or on weekend event days starting at 10 a.m. or by calling (210) 444-5090.

blog comments powered by Disqus