Donovan Wins P-I Sports Star Award

  • P-I: Donovan, Moore win honors
  • Jackson named WNBL's best
  • Storm News Archive
  • Kevin Pelton, | January 20, 2005
    Seattle Storm Coach Anne Donovan became the third straight member of the Seattle Storm to win the Seattle Post-Intelligencer's Female Sports Star of the Year Award at a banquet held last night at the Sheraton Seattle Hotel.

    Donovan beat out two-time Pac-10 women's soccer Player of the Year Tina Frimpong (second), All-America volleyball setter Courtney Thompson (third) and trio of Olympic rowers Anna Mickelson, Lianne Nelson and Mary Whipple (fourth) to win the honors. She follows Storm guard Sue Bird, who won in 2002, and forward Lauren Jackson, who won last year.

    It was a magical 2004 for Donovan, who helped lead the U.S. Women's National Team to a gold medal in the Athens Olympics before leading the Storm to the WNBA Championship, the first major professional sports championship in Seattle in 25 years.

    During her acceptance speech, Donovan thanked the Sonics and Storm organization, which she called, "the best in the WNBA," the Post-Intelligencer for its coverage of the Storm during the run to the title and the Seattle community for its support.

    UNLV golfer Ryan Moore was the male winner, beating out Sonics Coach Nate McMillan, who finished third, amongst others.

    Donovan wasn't the only Storm player honored yesterday. Jackson was named the best player in WNBL history on the strength of her four WNBL MVPs (1998-99, 1999-00, 2002-03 and 2003-04). She was also named Betty Watson Rookie of the Year in 1997. The WNBL named the top ten players in league history as part of the celebration of its 25th season of play. Joining Jackson in the top five were Robyn Maher, former Phoenix Mercury guard Michele Timms, former Detroit Shock forward Rachel Sporn and Shelley Sandie.