Jackson, Bird Named to All-WNBA Teams



Sept. 13, 2010

NEW YORK - Seattle Storm forward-center Lauren Jackson and New York Liberty guard Cappie Pondexter headline the 2010 All-WNBA First Team, the league announced today. Jackson led all vote-getters with 195 points while Pondexter received 193 points. Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings finished third with 191 points.

Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi and Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles round out the First Team with 185 and 125 points, respectively.

Voting for the All-WNBA First and Second Teams was conducted by a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters. Players were selected by position and received five points for each First Team vote and three points for each Second Team designation.

Bird Player Page
Jackson Player Page
Bird: The Storm's Floor Leader
Feature: For the Third Time, Jackson is WNBA's MVP
More Storm News

Jackson, named the 2010 WNBA Most Valuable Player of the Year presented by Kia Motors, averaged 20.5 points and 8.3 rebounds this season while leading the Storm to the best record in the WNBA (28-6). Pondexter ranked second in scoring (21.4 ppg) and sixth in assists (4.9 apg), and helped the Liberty to a franchise-record 10-game winning streak and second playoff seed in the Eastern Conference.

Catchings, the 2010 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year presented by Kia Motors, led the league in steals (2.3 spg) for a record sixth time, and along with Jackson, was only one of two players in the WNBA to rank in the top ten in four different categories. Taurasi paced the league in scoring (22.6 ppg) for a third consecutive season, and averaged a career high in assists (4.7 apg). Fowles led the league in blocked shots (2.6 bpg).

For Jackson, this is her seventh First Team selection along with one appearance on the Second Team, while this marks Taurasiís fifth consecutive First Team honor. Catchings has been selected to eight All-WNBA teams, including five First Teams. Pondexter and Fowles each earned their first appearance on the First Team.

Storm guard Sue Bird (123 points) and Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry (119 points) highlight the 2010 All-WNBA Second Team. Bird, who along with Jackson spearheaded the Storm to one of the greatest regular-season records in WNBA history, finished second in the league in assists (5.8). This is her second appearance on the All-WNBA Second Team (2008). She was a member of the All-WNBA First Team in each of her first four seasons from 2002-05. McCoughtry, the WNBA Rookie of the Year last season, blossomed into a WNBA All-Star in her second season and led the Dream to its second consecutive playoff berth after averaging 21.1 points, 4.9 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 1.9 steals.

Washington Mystics forward-center Crystal Langhorne (111 points), Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles (86 points) and Fever guard Katie Douglas (30 points) round out the Second Team.

In honor of being named to the All-WNBA First and Second Teams, each player will receive a Tiffany & Co. designed trophy. In addition, $10,000 will be awarded to each member of the First Team, while each member of the Second Team will receive $5,000.

Below are the complete results of the 2010 All-WNBA Team voting.

Lauren JacksonSeattle StormForward/Center195
Tamika CatchingsIndiana FeverForward191
Sylvia FowlesChicago SkyCenter125
Cappie PondexterNew York LibertyGuard193
Diana TaurasiPhoenix MercuryGuard185

Angel McCoughtryAtlanta DreamForward119
Crystal LanghorneWashington MysticsForward111
Tina CharlesConnecticut SunCenter86
Sue BirdSeattle StormGuard123
Katie DouglasIndiana FeverGuard30