Storm Lands Two Players in All-Star Starting Five

Swin Cash
Sue Bird

July 14, 2011

SEATTLE - The Seattle Storm All-Star tradition continues as veterans Sue Bird and Swin Cash were named to the starting five in fan balloting for the 2011 WNBA All-Star Game set for July 23 in San Antonio. Storm Head Coach Brian Agler will coach the Western Conference All-Star Team by virtue of leading Seattle to the conference title last season.

The Storm has had at least two players voted as starters in every All-Star Game since 2005.

Bird has been voted a starter all seven All-Star Games that have been played during her career (2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011). She sat out the 2007 game after having arthroscopic surgery on her left knee earlier in that season.

“It's a big honor,” Bird commented. “Fan voting, it's kind of humbling for me. It's great knowing that fans want to see me in that game; hopefully I can put on a good show for them.”

For Cash, this season marks the third time she has been voted a starter (2005, 2009 and 2011), the most recent two nods coming during her tenure with the Storm. She was named the game MVP after scoring 22 points in the 2009 contest. Cash was also selected as a reserve in 2003 when she was with the Detroit Shock team that captured the WNBA title that year.

Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings led all players with 32,706 votes in the 2011 WNBA All-Star Balloting Presented by T-Mobile. Catchings received the most votes for the third time in her career, having also achieved the mark in 2006 and 2009. Bird (25,077), the second leading vote-getter, paced the Western Conference.

Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore (21,379), the first overall selection in the 2011 WNBA Draft presented by Adidas, is the first rookie voted to start in the WNBA All-Star game since Catchings and Bird in 2002.

The 2011 WNBA All-Star Game will be nationally broadcast on ABC, Saturday, July 23 at 12:30 p.m. PT (2:30 p.m. CT) from San Antonio. It is the first time the San Antonio Silver Stars are hosting the WNBA’s midseason showcase.

Joining Catchings in the Eastern Conference starting lineup are New York Liberty guard Cappie Pondexter (20,226), Indiana guard Katie Douglas (18,598), Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles (17,205) and Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry (14,310). It is the first time Pondexter has been voted a starter in her fourth All-Star selection. For Charles and McCoughtry, the last two Rookie of the Year winners, it marks the first time each has been named a WNBA All-Star.

Selected as starters for the Western Conference alongside Bird, Cash and Moore are Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi (22,406), the third leading vote-getter, and Los Angeles Sparks center Candace Parker (19,376).

Catchings (2002-03, 2005-07, 2009, 2011), Bird (2002-03, 2005-07, 2009, 2011) and Taurasi (2005-07, 2009, 2011) have been voted starters for every WNBA All-Star Game since they entered the league.

The 12 WNBA head coaches will select the reserves by voting for six players within their own conference, including two guards, two forwards, one center and one player regardless of position. Coaches are not permitted to vote for players on their own team. The league will announce the reserves during a nationally televised game between the Storm and the Chicago Sky on ESPN2, Tuesday, July 19 at 4 p.m. PT.

Replacement players, who will take the roster spot of players who cannot play due to injury, will be named by the WNBA President. Any changes to the starting lineup necessitated by injury would be made by the head coach of the respective All-Star team.

By virtue of winning their respective conference titles last season, Agler will coach the Western Conference, and the Eastern Conference will be led by Atlanta’s Marynell Meadors.

Individual tickets are available to the general public at all San Antonio Ticketmaster locations, including by phone at (210) 225-TEAM, or online at or

blog comments powered by Disqus