Bird, Cash and Jackson to Start in 2009 WNBA All-Star Game



July 14, 2009

SEATTLE - Seattle Storm guard Sue Bird and forwards Swin Cash and Lauren Jackson were voted by the fans as starters for the Western Conference at the 2009 All-Star Game, the WNBA announced today.

Jackson has been voted a starter by fans for the fourth time in her career and will make her seventh All-Star appearance overall. Bird was voted a starter for the sixth time in her career and will make her fifth All-Star appearance overall (Bird did not participate in the 2007 WNBA All-Star Game due to a knee injury). Cash, just the third player in WNBA history to start for both the Eastern and Western Conference teams (Becky Hammon and Dawn Staley), was voted a starter for the second time in her career and will make her third All-Star appearance overall.


The Storm is the seventh team in WNBA history to have three All-Star game starters. Other teams include:

  • Detroit 2007 - Braxton, Ford, Nolan
  • Connecticut 2006 - Dydek, Sales, Whalen
  • Houston 2003 - Cooper (injured), Swoopes, Thompson
  • New York 2001 - Johnson, Phillips, Weatherspoon
  • Houston 2000 - Cooper (injured), Swoopes, Thompson
  • Houston 1999 - Cooper, Swoopes, Thompson

Indiana’s Tamika Catchings received the most votes (94,316) for the second time, having also earned the honor in 2006. Hammon (88,991), Jackson (88,685) and Bird (88,591) followed closely behind Catchings as leading vote-getters and topped all players in the Western Conference.

The WNBA All-Star Game will be played at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, CT., on Saturday, July 25 and will be nationally televised live on ABC at 12:30 p.m. (PDT).

For Cash, All-Star Selection is Special
StormTracker Blog
Get Storm Headlines!

Joining Bird, Cash and Jackson in the Western Conference starting lineup are San Antonio’s Becky Hammon and Los Angeles’ Lisa Leslie. The Eastern Conference starters are Indiana forward Tamika Catchings, Chicago Sky forward Candice Dupree, Sky center Sylvia Fowles, Washington Mystics guard Alana Beard and Fever guard Katie Douglas. Reserve selections will be awarded based on voting from each conference’s head coaches and will be announced next week.

Starting lineups are listed below.

Western Conference Starters:
Sue Bird, Guard (Seattle Storm)
Becky Hammon, Guard (San Antonio Silver Stars)
Lisa Leslie, Center (Los Angeles Sparks)
Swin Cash, Forward (Seattle Storm)
Lauren Jackson, Forward (Seattle Storm)
Eastern Conference Starters:
Katie Douglas, Guard (Indiana Fever)
Alana Beard, Guard (Washington Mystics)
Sylvia Fowles, Center (Chicago Sky)
Candice Dupree, Forward (Chicago Sky)
Tamika Catchings, Forward (Indiana Fever)

About the Seattle Storm: The Seattle Storm, celebrating its 10th Anniversary season in Seattle in 2009, is one of six independently owned teams in the WNBA, the world’s preeminent women’s professional basketball league. Established in 2000, the Storm is committed to bringing outstanding professional basketball to a diverse and rapidly growing fan base. The team also plays an active role in promoting literacy, health and fitness, support for women and girls and youth basketball in local communities.