Jackson, Wright Earn All-Defensive Honors



Kevin Pelton, stormbasketball.com | Aug. 29, 2010

Seattle Storm centerLauren Jackson and guard Tanisha Wright have been named to the 2010 WNBA All-Defensive Teams, the league announced Sunday. For the second straight year, Wright was voted to the All-Defensive First Team at guard. Jackson was named to the All-Defensive Second Team for her fifth All-Defensive appearance overall and third spot on the Second Team. Jackson was the 2007 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year.

The Storm led the league in opponent field-goal percentage, allowing teams to make just 41.3 percent of their shot attempts, while also ranking among the WNBA's leaders in points allowed and Defensive Rating. Wright is the Storm's top perimeter defender, while Jackson is the team's anchor on the inside. She ranked fifth in the league with 1.2 blocks per game and her 5.5 defensive rebounds per game were good for seventh in the WNBA. Jackson actually received the fourth-highest vote total, but was consigned to the Second Team because she was second among centers.

Storm Shoots Way to Sweep of Sparks
StormTracker Blog
Get Storm Headlines!

Wright is joined on the First Team by Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, the WNBA's 2010 Defensive Player of the Year, New York Liberty guard Cappie Pondexter, Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry and Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles. In addition to Jackson, the All-Defensive Second Team features Indiana Fever guards Tully Bevilaqua and Katie Douglas, Washington Mystics guard Lindsey Harding (there are three guards because of a tie between Bevilaqua and Douglas), Atlanta Dream forward Sancho Lyttle and Minnesota Lynx forward Rebekkah Brunson.

A panel of the WNBA’s 12 head coaches voted on the WNBA All-Defensive Team, selecting First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Players earned two points for each First Team vote and one point for a Second Team vote.

Tamika CatchingsIndiana FeverForward22
Angel McCoughtryAtlanta DreamForward18
Sylvia FowlesChicago SkyCenter18
Tanisha WrightSeattle StormGuard11
Cappie PondexterNew York LibertyGuard10

Lauren JacksonSeattle StormForward/Center15
Lindsey HardingWashington MysticsGuard9
Sancho LyttleAtlanta DreamForward7
Rebekkah BrunsonMinnesota LynxForward6
Tully BevilaquaIndiana FeverGuard6
Katie DouglasIndiana FeverGuard6