Jackson and Wright Named to All-Defensive First Team


Kevin Pelton, stormbasketball.com | September 25, 2009
Seattle Storm forward Lauren Jackson and guard Tanisha Wright have been named to the 2009 WNBA All-Defensive First Team, the league announced Friday. Jackson, the 2007 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, is making her third straight All-Defensive appearance and fourth overall, having previously been voted to the First Team in 2007 and to the Second Team in 2005 and 2008. Wright is being honored by the league for her defense for the first time and is the first Storm player besides Jackson to make an All-Defensive Team.

For the second consecutive season, the Storm led the league in scoring defense, allowing just 72.8 points per game. Jackson and Wright were key to the Storm's defensive success. Jackson finished second in the WNBA by blocking 1.7 shots per game and also collected 1.5 steals per game. Wright's 1.5 steals per game were a career high, and she was assigned the task of defending the opposition's best scorer on the perimeter throughout the season.

Jackson Named to All-WNBA First Team
StormTracker Blog
Get Storm Headlines!
Jackson and Wright are joined on the First Team by Indiana Fever guard Tully Bevilaqua and forward Tamika Catchings, the WNBA's 2009 Defensive Player of the Year, and Minnesota Lynx center Nicky Anosike. The All-Defensive Second Team features Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie, Atlanta Dream forwards Sancho Lyttle and Angel McCoughtry, Detroit Shock guard Deanna Nolan, Washington Mystics guard Alana Beard and Sparks guard/forward Candace Parker.

A panel of the WNBA’s 13 head coaches voted on the WNBA All-Defensive Team, selecting First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Players earned two points for each First Team vote and one point for a Second Team vote.

Tamika CatchingsIndiana FeverForward24
Lauren JacksonSeattle StormForward/Center12
Nicky AnosikeMinnesota LynxCenter/Forward13
Tanisha WrightSeattle StormGuard10
Tully BevilaquaIndiana FeverGuard9

Sancho LyttleAtlanta DreamForward9
Angel McCoughtryAtlanta DreamForward9
Lisa LeslieLos Angeles SparksCenter10
Candace ParkerLos Angeles SparksGuard/Forward8
Alana BeardWashington MysticsGuard8
Deanna NolanDetroit ShockGuard8