Tina Thompson Nominated
for SSC Female Sports Star of the Year

Seattle Sports Commission Names Nominees for 79th Annual Ceremony

December 6, 2013

SEATTLE - Tina Thompson has been named a nominee for the Seattle Sports Commission’s Female Sports Star of the Year award. The 79th annual ceremony will take place on Jan. 22, 2014 at Benaroya Hall in Seattle.

Thompson finished her 17-year WNBA career in Seattle as the all-time leading WNBA scorer in history with 7,488 points and second on the all-time rebounding list at 3,070. A WNBA-record nine-time All-Star, Thompson was drafted No. 1 in the WNBA’s inaugural draft in 1997.

Created by Royal Brougham and the Seattle Post-Intelligencer in 1936, the event celebrates achievements of those in the local sports community and industry. Voting is open on the Seattle Sports Commission’s website.

Past Storm winners include Sue Bird (2002), Lauren Jackson (2003) and Anne Donovan (2004). Kate Starbird (1997) won before her days in a Storm jersey.

Thompson joins Joan Bonvicini (Seattle University Women’s Basketball head coach), Krista Vansant (UW Volleyball), Marti Malloy (USA Judo), Melissa Arnot (Record-holding Mountaineer) and Micaela Castain (WSU Soccer) as the Female Sports Star of the Year nominees.

Nominees for the Male Sports Star of the Year include Bishop Sankey (UW Football), DeAndre Yedlin (Sounders FC), Hisashi Iwakuma (Mariners pitcher), John Lester (Red Sox pitcher), Russell Wilson (Seahawks quarterback) and the UW Men’s Soccer team.

blog comments powered by Disqus