Silver Stars Announce Opening Night Roster

SAN ANTONIO - The San Antonio Silver Stars today announced its final 11-player roster for the 2013 season opener on Friday, May 24. The Silver Stars host the defending WNBA champion Indiana Fever at 7 p.m. at the AT&T Center. Lower level tickets start at $11 and are available at

The 2013 roster features eight returning players, including Danielle Adams, Jayne Appel, Shameka Christon, Becky Hammon, Shenise Johnson, Jia Perkins, Danielle Robinson and Sophia Young. The Silver Stars also acquired 17-year WNBA veteran Delisha Milton-Jones during free agency and add 2013 Draft rookies Kayla Alexander (8th overall selection) and Davellyn Whyte (16th overall selection).

San Antonio waived forwards Christine Flores and Julie Wojta, center Ziomara Morrison and guard Yvonne Turner to finalize the roster.

The Silver Stars season opener, presented by St. Philips College, marks the first 98.5 The Beat Dollar Drink Night of the season, presented by Bud Light. Every Friday night home game fans can enjoy $1 beer and soda. The first 5,000 fans in attendance will receive a 2013 Silver Stars magnet schedule and the first 2,500 fans will receive noise bangers, courtesy of St. Philips College. Following the game, fans are invited to enjoy a postgame concert by “Blow My Cover” in the Budlight Courtyard.