Helen Darling and Jia Perkins Named to All-Decade Team

SAN ANTONIO The San Antonio Silver Stars announced today that guard Helen Darling and current guard Jia Perkins are the fifth and sixth All-Decade Team honorees. Darling and Perkins are two of 10 All-Decade Team members, as selected in a vote by fans, team staff and local and national media to commemorate the Silver Stars 10th Anniversary season.

Darling played four seasons with the Silver Stars (2007-10) helping the team capture the 2008 Western Conference title and make its first WNBA Finals appearance. She played in 147 career games with San Antonio, averaging 3.2 points, 1.8 rebounds and 2.3 assists per game. Darling retired from the WNBA following the 2010 season.

Perkins has played for the Silver Stars for two seasons (2011-present) after being acquired in a trade with the Chicago Sky during the 2010-11 offseason. A front runner for the 2012 WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year award, Perkins has played in 62 career games for the Silver Stars to date, averaging 11.9 points, 3.3 rebounds, 1.7 assists and 1.6 steals per game. She has led the team in scoring off the bench in each of the last two seasons.

Darling and Perkins join guard Danielle Robinson, former centers Margo Dydek and Ann Wauters and former guard Marie Ferdinand-Harris as the first six All-Decade Team selections.

The Silver Stars All-Decade Team was compiled to honor the teams ten years in Texas, after the franchise relocated from Utah in 2003. On August, 20, the Silver Stars announced the names of 26 nominees for the All-Decade Team, as selected by team staff. In order to be selected for the ballot, players must have played in a minimum of 50 games with the team between 2003 and 2012. Consideration was also given to factors including on court performance and ability, leadership, sportsmanship and community service, as well as contributions to team success and overall growth of the Silver Stars franchise. The remaining four All-Decade Team selections will be unveiled in pairs at each of the final two regular-season home games.

PREVIOUSLY: Danielle Robinson and Ann Wauters Named to All Decade Team | Margo Dydek and Named to Marie Ferdinand-Harris All Decade Team