Parker Named Sportswoman of the Year

Candace Parker was named Team Sportswoman of the Year by the Women’s Sports Foundation at the 34th Annual Salute to Women in Sports Gala on Wednesday, October 16, in New York City.

Parker’s award was based on her basketball achievements between August 13, 2012 and July 31, 2013, including being a member of the Olympic gold medal winning U.S. Women’s National Basketball Team and earning All-WNBA First Team recognition. Additionally, she was named MVP of the 2013 WNBA All-Star, set a new WNBA All-Star game points record, received the ESPY for Best WNBA Player and was voted MVP of the Euroleague Women’s Final Eight.

Unable to attend, Parker expressed her appreciation for the award in a tweet, saying “Thank you @WomensSportsFdn for this huge honor. I truly respect all that your org. does to inspire girls and am truly humbled by this award!”

Parker, also the 2013 WNBA MVP, was selected by the Women’s Sports Foundation and a public voting process among a group of finalists that included: Katie Holloway, a member of the U.S. Women’s Paralympic Sitting Volleyball Team, University of Minnesota and U.S. Women’s National team hockey player Amanda Kessel and Stanford water polo player Melissa Seidman. Beach volleyball players Talita Da Rocha Antunes and Taiana Lima of Brazil and Canadian bobsledders Kaillie Humphries and Chelsea Valois were also nominated.

Olympic champion swimmer Missy Franklin was named Individual Sportswoman of the Year. The WNBA also received the Billie Jean King Contribution Award for the league’s tireless work to elevate the image of women in sports.

The Women’s Sports Foundation was founded by tennis legend Billie Jean King in 1974 and is dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women through sports and physical activity.