USA National Team Pool

USA Basketball announced Monday that three Chicago Sky stars have been selected as part of the 2014-16 USA Basketball Women’s National Team pool. Sylvia Fowles, Elena Delle Donne and Courtney Vandersloot were amongst the 33 players selected for the pool from which the 2014 USA World Championship Team and the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team, if qualified, will be selected.

“It’s an incredible honor to be included among the nations best athletes for consideration for the 2014 USA World Championship Team. When I consider the women that are also in this pool, I am extremely grateful for this opportunity,” explained 2013 WNBA Rookie of the Year Elena Delle Donne.

The USA Basketball Women’s National Team Player Selection Committee may add athletes at any time and will determine the 12-player team that will represent the USA at the 2014 FIBA World Championship, the 2016 Summer Olympic Games, if the team qualifies, and several USA training camps and exhibition games.

“The players that make up this pool spend most of the summer playing against one another, so it’s a really cool thing to see everyone come together on the same team with the same goal in mind, which is representing our country and winning gold,” said Vandersloot, a WNBA All-Rookie selection in 2011.

Fowles, who earned two Olympic gold medals and a World Championship title with Team USA, explained, “Selecting a list of 12 ladies for the 2014 USA World Championship Team will be tough because there is crazy talent at each position.” Adding, “That will make the committee’s job an extreme challenge.”

The USA Basketball Women’s National Team Player Selection Committee consists of USA Basketball Women’s National Team Director Carol Callan, WNBA Chief of Basketball Operations and Player Relations Reneé Brown, San Antonio Silver Stars Head Coach and General Manager Dan Hughes, Connecticut Sun Vice President and General Manager Chris Sienko along with three-time Olympic gold medalist and two-time FIBA World Championship gold medalist Katie Smith.

The 33-player pool also consists of fellow Olympic gold medalists Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury), Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Candace Parker (Los Angeles Sparks), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Kara Lawson (Connecticut Sun), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx) and Cappie Pondexter (New York Liberty).

WNBA talents included in the pool selection are Jayne Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars), Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury), DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix Mercury), Stefanie Dolson (University of Connecticut), Brittney Griner (Phoenix Mercury), Skylar Diggins (Tulsa Shock), Glory Johnson (Tulsa Shock), Jantel Lavender (Los Angeles Sparks), Briann January (Indiana Fever), Lindsey Harding (Los Angeles Sparks), Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Los Angeles Sparks), Danielle Robinson (San Antonio Silver Stars), Monica Wright (Minnesota Lynx) and Sophia Young (San Antonio Siver Stars).

Collegiate talent selected for the pool include Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (University of Connecticut), Kayla McBride (University of Notre Dame), Breanna Stewart (University of Connecticut), Odyssey Sims (Baylor University) and Alyssa Thomas (University of Maryland).