Sky Players Honored Overseas

Eurobasket has announced their European awards for the 2010/2011basketball season. staff, for women’s basketball in Europe, and a network of almost 300 correspondents voted on individual position awards along with All-Europeans and All-Europe 1st and 2nd teams, with individual position awards receiving first-team honors.

Chicago Sky’s own Epiphanny Price was named Point Guard of the Year for her 2010/2011 season with Spartak Vidnoe Moscow Region in Russia, under Head Coach Pokey Chatman. Prince helped lead the team to a Euroleague and Russian Superleague Final. She averaged 16.6 points, 3.5 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game in 17 Euroleague games last season. In the Russian Superleague, she averaged 12.3 points, 3.2 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game.

Penny Taylor was named the overall Player of the Year. Last season overseas she played for Fenerbahce in Istanbul. The Phoenix Mercury forward was the second best scorer in Euroleague last year scoring 19.2 points per game. Taylor also was awarded the Small Forward of the Year award. Other players to receive individual position awards were DeWanna Bonner, who was named Shooting Guard of the Year. Candice Dupree, from the Phoenix Mercury, was named Power Forward of the Year and Sancho Lyttle, from the Atlanta Dream, was named Center of the Year.

Sylvia Fowles was named to All-Europe 2nd Team for her performance last season with Galatasaray in Turkey. Fowles averaged a team best 16.3 points, 10.0 rebounds and 1.3 blocks per game. Rounding out the 2nd Team is point guard, Elina Babkinal; shooting guard, Erin Phillips from the Indiana Fever; forward, Alba Torrens; and center, Tina Charles from the Connecticut Sun.