Michael Alter Honored

New Trier Township High School honored Class of 1979 graduate and Chicago Sky Owner, Michael Alter, yesterday as they announced the 2012 New Trier Township High School Alumni Achievement Awards and Hall of Honor inductees.

Leaders in the fields of business, science, philanthropy, government, entertainment, and the military were among the 10 honorees for this year’s Achievement awards. This marks the second year the Awards have been given.

A committee of alumni, staff, teachers and representatives of the New Trier Education Foundation, which co-sponsors the award with the school district, selected the 2012 honorees from 130 nominations.

“Committee members made their selections based not just on the honorees’ career accomplishments, but also on their commitment to public service,” according to a press release announcing the winners.

Michael Alter has done a lot since he graduated from high school in 1979. Alter is not only the majority owner of the Chicago Sky, he is also president of the commercial real estate firm, Alter Group. When Michael took over as president in 1995, Alter Group quickly became one of the nation’s 10 largest commercial real estate developers with offices across the nation. Alter founded City Year Chicago, a non-profit youth service organization dedicated to local services and this year was also named an honorary “Pink Tie Guy” by the Susan G. Komen Foundation, along with former Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley, for truly making a difference in the fight against breast cancer.

Some of the most notable inductees in this year’s New Trier Township High School Alumni Achievement Awards and Hall of Honor include Mayor Rahm Emanuel, Class of 1977. Emanuel was elected Mayor of Chicago in 2011, after serving as Chief of Staff to President Barack Obama. Martha Minow, Class of 1972, is dean of the Harvard Law School and vice-chair of the Board of Legal Services Corporation, which provides legal assistance to low-income Americans. Alan Krensky, Class of 1969, is a leading pediatric nephrologist and cancer researcher who developed the Children’s Health Initiative at Stanford University. Edward Zwick, Class of 1970, is an Academy Award-winning producer, director, and writer known for his work on films with social messages. His film credits include “Glory,” “Shakespeare in Love,” “Traffic,” and “Blood Diamond.”

A fundraiser dinner is scheduled for March 15 at the Hilton Orrington Hotel in Evanston for the inductees. For more information, visit newtrieralumni.org.

Full list of the 2012 New Trier Township High School Alumni Achievement Awards and Hall of Honor inductees:

  • Michael Alter, Class of 1979
  • Ann-Margret, Class of 1959.
  • Rahm Emanuel, Class of 1977.
  • Alan Krensky, Class of 1969.
  • Thomas Miller, Class of 1966.
  • Martha Minow, Class of 1972.
  • Michael S. Rogers, Class of 1977.
  • James Sprayregen, Class of 1978.
  • James Collins Warren, Class of 1942.
  • Edward Zwick, Class of 1970.