Sky Signs Erin Thorn

CHICAGO, January 07, 2009 – The WNBA Chicago Sky has signed guard Erin Thorn to a two year contract, Head Coach and General Manager Steven Key announced today. Per team policy, terms of the contract have not been released.

“Having Erin on the team will bring six years of WNBA veteran leadership, especially post-season experience that the team needs. She was a big contributor to the post-season success of the Liberty in 2007 and 2008, I have no doubt that she will contribute both mentally and physically to building the championship team we are looking to build,” said Steven Key. “Her ability to spread the floor and get the ball inside will help tremendously in the coming season. Erin will add to our core of returning players including the versatility of forward Candice Dupree and center Sylvia Fowles, aggressive scoring of Jia Perkins, and the veteran leadership of Dominique Canty.”

Thorn a 5’10” guard, selected by the New York Liberty in the second round (17th overall) of the 2003 WNBA Draft, finished the 2008 season shooting .340 percent from the field, .268 percent from beyond the arc, and .909 percent from the free throw line ranking 15th in the WNBA in free throw percentage. A dedicated veteran, Thorn improved her play on the court during the 2008 post-season playoffs shooting .583 percent from the field and .571 percent from beyond the arc.

Thorn had a standout season in 2007. She started in 29-of-29 games and finished the WNBA regular season as one of the WNBA’s top 20 leaders in assists per game (2.5), field goal percentage (.424), minutes per game (30.4), and three-point field goal percentage (.390). Thorn scored her season high points per game (28) against the Sky at Madison Square Garden on May 20, sinking 7 out of 10 three pointers. Thorn helped the Liberty through to the post-season in the past four out of the five seasons.

Thorn, a Utah native, was a Brigham Young standout, averaging 18.8 points and 4.2 rebounds per game her senior year. Thorn was named the MWC All-Tournament Team and MWC All-Conference First Team.