Sky Selects Mistie Williams In Dispersal Draft

The Chicago Sky selected Mistie Williams with the third pick in the WNBA Dispersal Draft of Houston Comets players held via conference call on December 8. Teams drafted in inverse order of their regular-season finish in 2008.

Williams was drafted 21st overall by the Houston Comets in the 2006 WNBA Draft. Williams played in 32 games in the 2008 WNBA season averaging 3.8 points, 2.4 rebounds, and 0.6 assists per game.

The former Duke standout is the all-time winningest player in Duke history with 127 victories and became the fifth Duke player to register over 1,400 points and 800 rebounds in a career. Williams started in her final 105 straight games for the Blue Devils, helping lead Duke to ACC Championships in 2003 and 2004. Williams finished her career ranking eighth in points (1,409), eighth in field goals made (557), fifth in field goal percentage (.567), fifth in rebounds (800), fifth in blocks (131), eighth in free throws made (295), eighth in double-figure scoring games (78), and tied for fourth in ACC regular season wins (55). As a senior Williams earned second team All-ACC honors and was a preseason John R. Wooden Award nominee, led Duke to a 31-4 overall record and an appearance in the National Championship game averaging 11.2 points, 6.3 rebounds, and 1.6 assists per game.

Williams originally from Janesville, Wisconsin received her bachelorís degree from Duke in Women Studies. Williams is currently playing overseas during the offseason in Turkey for Mersin.

The Atlanta Dream chose Sancho Lyttle with the first pick while the Washington Mystics took Matee Ajavon with the second selection.

The results of the Dispersal Draft are as follows:

2008 Dispersal Draft Results

1. Atlanta Dream - Sancho Lyttle
2. Washington Mystics - Matee Ajavon
3. Chicago Sky - Mistie Williams
4. Minnesota Lynx - Roneeka Hodges
5. Phoenix Mercury - Sequoia Holmes
6. Indiana Fever - Erica White
7. Sacramento Monarchs - Renae Camino
8. New York Liberty - Pass
9. Los Angeles Sparks - Pass
10. Connecticut Sun - Pass
11. Detroit Shock - Pass
12. Seattle Storm - Pass
13. San Antonio - Pass