Cheryl Ford became the WNBA’s all-time single-season rebounder.
Allen Einstein (NBAE/Getty)
Related Stories
Shock Forward Breaks Record Set by Sacramento’s Yolanda Griffith in 2001
Detroit’s Ford Becomes The WNBA’s All-Time Single Season Rebounder

AUBURN HILLS, Mich. – Detroit Shock forward Cheryl Ford became the WNBA’s all-time single-season rebounder in Sunday afternoon’s 88-65 victory over the Connecticut Sun grabbing 363 boards in 32 games on the year. Ford entered the game with 351 rebounds on the season and broke the record at the 6:14 mark in the third quarter when she grabbed her seventh rebound of the game off of her own missed shot. The four-year forward finished the game with 12 rebounds (seven offensive and five defensive). Sacramento’s Yolanda Griffith held the previous mark of 357 set in 2001.

On the year, Ford averaged a career-high 13.8 points and league-leading 11.3 rebounds while setting personal marks for field goal shooting (49.8%, 157-of-315), free throws (120) and free throw attempts (199).

The Shock drafted the Louisiana Tech graduate in the first round, third overall, in the 2003 WNBA Draft. Ford was named the 2003 WNBA Rookie of the Year as she set a league rookie record for rebounds in a season with 334 and was a key member of the Shock’s 2003 WNBA Championship team.

She was named an Eastern Conference All-Star in 2003, 2005, and 2006 and to the All-WNBA Second Team in 2003. Ford is the WNBA’s career leader in rebounds per game (10.3) and is also one of six WNBA players to have recorded a 20-point, 20-rebound game (21 points, 22 rebounds at San Antonio, May 22, 2004).

In her four-year career, the Shock forward has 55 career double-doubles (fifth most in league history) and holds the WNBA record for offensive rebounds in a game with 12 at San Antonio on May 22, 2004.

WNBA Single Season Rebound Leaders

Player Year Reb
Cheryl Ford 2006 363
Yolanda Griffith 2001 357
Natalie Williams 2000 336
Lisa Leslie 2004 336
Cheryl Ford 2003 334
Yolanda Griffith 2000 331
Yolanda Griffith 1999 329
Lisa Leslie 2006 323
Cheryl Ford 2005 322
Lisa Leslie 2002 322

Lennox is the presenting sponsor for the 2006 Detroit Shock. The Shock will tip off the 2006 WNBA Playoffs on Thursday, August 17 at 7:00 p.m. at Indiana on ESPN2 before they return home for game two on Saturday, August 15 at 6:00 p.m. For more information about the Detroit Shock or to purchase tickets for any upcoming Shock game, call 248-377-0100 or go online at