Shock guards Deanna Nolan and Katie Smith are tops amongst Eastern Conference guards

Detroit Shock Duo of Kara Braxton and Cheryl Ford Lead 207 WNBA All-Star Balloting Program

Auburn Hills, MI – Following second returns of the 2007 WNBA All-Star Balloting Program Presented by AOL and T-Mobile, Detroit Shock teammates Kara Braxton and Cheryl Ford lead all players in votes.

Braxton currently leads all players with 94,275 votes. She has started all eight games for the Shock in 2007 and is averaging 6.2 points and 6.0 rebounds. Ford, her frontcourt teammate with the Shock, has collected 86,759 votes and is posting 13.5 points, 10.0 rebounds and 2.6 steals this season.

In addition to the top two Shock vote-getters, leading the Eastern Conference front court are Shock guards Deanna Nolan (59,448) and Katie Smith (51,899). Nolan’s average of 14.9 points per game leads the Shock while teammate Katie Smith’s average of 13.3 ppg doesn’t trail far behind.

Shock forward Swin Cash with 51,986 votes is just off pace of the Eastern Conference forwards, trailing Indiana Fever forward teammates Tamika Catchings (80,350) and Tamika Whitmore (66,437).

Bird, the top vote receiver for the Western Conference with 75,907 votes, is averaging 11.1 points, 4.9 assists and 2.0 steals. Her Storm teammates, forward Lauren Jackson (63,743) and center Janell Burse (45,720), are joined by San Antonio Silver Stars guard Becky Hammon (68,141) and Phoenix Mercury forward Diana Taurasi (53,362) to complete the lineup.

The WNBA All-Star Game will be hosted by the Washington Mystics at the Verizon Center on Sunday, July 15, and will be televised nationally on ABC at 3:30 p.m. ET.

Starters for the WNBA All-Star Game will be determined by fan balloting which began on May 22 and runs through June 24 in WNBA arenas, online and through a variety of other outlets. Starting lineups for both the Western and Eastern Conferences will be announced on Tuesday, July 3. Reserve players will subsequently be selected by the League’s Eastern and Western Conference head coaches and announced by the league on Tuesday, July 10.

WNBA players will be extremely visible around town during All-Star Weekend, participating in community outreach initiatives that will leave lasting and positive impressions in the Washington, D.C. area. Several projects will take place, including the Nike/WNBA Court Refurbishment and the opening of a Reading and Learning Center through the WNBA Cares Legacy Event in conjunction with Toyota.

Also on July 15, select WNBA players will again compete against each other in the Dribble, Dish & Swish Skills Challenge as well as the Three-Point Shoot Out, both of which are sponsored by Adidas and included in the price of admission to the All-Star Game.

Additionally, the second annual All-Star Salute: Celebrating Inspiration Luncheon will take place in the nation’s capital that week, honoring women who inspire, motivate and help ignite the dreams and aspirations of women in all fields of endeavor. The event will be highlighted by the presentation of the WNBA Inspiration Award which will be given to an individual or group who on a daily basis demonstrates the ability to inspire others through their commitment, passion and dedication to work, family and community.

Tickets at all price points can be purchased through, via, at select Macy*s Department Stores in the Washington, D.C. area, or by calling Ticketmaster at 1-202-397-SEAT. Tickets are also available for purchase at the Verizon Center Box Office.

By hosting the 2007 All-Star Game, Washington, which also hosted the game in 2002, will join New York as the only cities to stage multiple WNBA All-Star games. In addition to hosting the league’s first All-Star event on July 14, 1999, New York’s Madison Square Garden was the site of the All-Star Game in 2003 and again last year during the league’s 10th anniversary season. The Western Conference dominated play with a perfect 6-0 record before MVP Katie Douglas led the Eastern Conference to a 98-82 victory in last year’s WNBA All-Star Game.

Now in its second decade of play, the WNBA features comprehensive national television coverage. ESPN2 and ABC will combine to televise up to 36 games nationally during the 2007 regular season and playoffs. Highlighting ESPN2’s 16 regular season telecasts will be the second straight year of “WNBA Tuesdays”, which includes 5 doubleheaders and WNBA action on 11 of 14 Tuesday nights in-season. NBA TV will complement ABC and ESPN2's coverage by televising 70 regular season and up to nine playoff games.


Forwards: Cheryl Ford (Det) 86,759; Tamika Catchings (Ind) 80,350; Tamika Whitmore (Ind) 66,437; Swin Cash (Det) 51,986; Shameka Christon (NY) 49,802; Candice Dupree (Chi) 29,094; Cathrine Kraayeveld (NY) 26,561; Nykesha Sales (Conn) 18,803; Asjha Jones (Conn) 13,344; Crystal Robinson (Wash) 10,885; Monique Currie (Wash) 6,459; Delisha Milton-Jones (Wash) 5,058 .

Centers: Kara Braxton (Det) 94,275; Tammy Sutton-Brown (Ind) 52,357; Jessica Davenport (NY) 28,947; Chasity Melvin (Wash) 24,775; Margo Dydek (Conn) 24,074; Kayte Christensen (Chi) 21,335.

Guards: Deanna Nolan (Det) 59,448; Katie Smith (Det) 51,899; Loree Moore (NY) 28,841; Tully Bevilaqua (Ind) 27,220; Anna DeForge (Ind) 26,867; Lindsay Whalen (Conn) 18,550; Sherill Baker (NY) 17,714; Katie Douglas (Conn) 17,513; Alana Beard (Wash) 17,454; Stacey Dales (Chi) 9,811; Dominique Canty (Chi) 6,833; Nikki Teasley (Wash) 5,959.


Lauren Jackson (Sea) 63,743; Diana Taurasi (Phx) 53,362;Vickie Johnson (SA) 37,953; Svetlana Abrosimova (Minn) 23,022; Sheryl Swoopes (Hou) 21,055; Sophia Young (SA) 19,790; Chamique Holdsclaw (LA) 19,610; Penny Taylor (Phx) 15,601; Tina Thompson (Hou) 14,713; Nicole Powell (Sac) 9,390; Tamika Raymond (Minn) 9,255; Barbara Turner (Hou) 6,977; DeMya Walker (Sac) 5,136;Carla Thomas (LA) 4,699.

Centers: Janell Burse (Sea) 45,720; Ruth Riley (SA) 31,537; Yolanda Griffith (Sac) 27,514; Tangela Smith (Phx) 18,019; Nicole Ohlde (Minn) 17,322; Taj McWilliams-Franklin (LA) 15,308; Michelle Snow (Hou) 11,226.

Guards: Sue Bird (Sea) 75,907; Becky Hammon (SA) 68,141; Betty Lennox (Sea) 46,906; Seimone Augustus (Minn) 38,988; Cappie Pondexter (Phx) 25,468; Lindsey Harding (Minn) 22,683; Marie Ferdinand-Harris (SA) 19,263; Kelly Miller (Phx) 18,994; Kara Lawson (Sac) 14,253; Ticha Penicheiro (Sac) 11,030; Temeka Johnson (LA) 3,904; Mwadi Mabika (LA) 3,735; Hamchetou Maiga-Ba (Hou) 3,527; Roneeka Hodges (Hou) 2,609.