Tulsa Shock's Riquna Williams Named 2013 WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year

NEW YORK, Sept. 24, 2013 Tulsa Shock guard Riquna Williams was named the 2013 WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year, the WNBA announced today. Williams received 17 votes from a national panel of 39 sportswriters and broadcasters to earn the award. Minnesota Lynx Monica Wright (13) finished second in the voting.

In 27 games, including 21 as a reserve, Williams averaged 15.6 points a five-point increase from her rookie season last year and the second-highest average on the Shock 2.4 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 1.0 steals in 22.7 minutes per game. The second-year guard from the University of Miami tied for fourth overall in the league in free throw percentage, converting 90 percent of her attempts from the free throw line. She also topped the 20-point plateau nine times, including a WNBA-record 51-point explosion late in the season.

Williams' record-setting game came on Sept. 8 in a 98-65 win over the San Antonio Silver Stars. She shot 17-for-28 from the field, including 8-for-14 from three-point land. Williams scored eight points in each of the first two quarters before erupting for 20 in the third and 15 in the fourth. The 51-point effort surpassed the previous mark of 47 set by Phoenix's Diana Taurasi in 2006 and Seattle's Lauren Jackson in 2007. Williams earned the first Western Conference Player of the Week Award in her career following that performance.

An All-Rookie Team selection in 2012, Williams finished her inaugural WNBA campaign ranked third among rookies in both assists (2.1 apg) and steals (1.55 spg), and fourth in scoring (10.5 ppg).

In honor of being named the Sixth Woman of the Year, Williams will receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co.

Below are the results of the 2013 WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year voting and a list of previous winners:


Votes Player Team
17Riquna WilliamsTulsa Shock
13Monica WrightMinnesota Lynx
7Tiffany HayesAtlanta Dream
1Jantel LavenderLos Angeles Sparks


Year Player Team
2013Riquna WilliamsTulsa Shock
2012Renee MontgomeryConnecticut Sun
2011DeWanna BonnerPhoenix Mercury
2010DeWanna BonnerPhoenix Mercury
2009DeWanna BonnerPhoenix Mercury
2008Candice WigginsMinnesota Lynx
2007*Plenette PiersonDetroit Shock

* Inaugural award