Teresa Edwards of the Minnesota Lynx Wins 2004 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award Presented by Secret

NEW YORK, September 25 – The WNBA announced today that Teresa Edwards of the Minnesota Lynx was named the recipient of the 2004 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award presented by Secret. The award is named in honor of the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to its first two WNBA championships before passing away in August of 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer. It is designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship.

Teresa Edwards, Minnesota Lynx
Minnesota Lynx guard Teresa Edwards, a five-time Olympian, is widely regarded as a matriarch in women’s basketball, with a career that has spanned two decades. She has inspired countless players through her professionalism and dedication in every facet of life.

“I cannot think of another player who is more deserving of this award,” said Suzie McConnell Serio head coach of the Minnesota Lynx. “She is so easy to coach because she has so much experience, commands enormous respect from the other players and holds such a deep passion and love for the game.”

Edwards has been active in her community through her work with the Beautiful Light Baptist Church, her local church in Cairo, GA. She enjoys teaching and mentoring children and has participated in numerous basketball clinics and camps throughout her basketball career. She also works closely with Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity to help provide housing for underprivileged families in the Minnesota area.

Edwards will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy and $5,000. In addition she has designated an additional $5,000 to go the Beautiful Light Baptist Church.
Following are the results of the 2004 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award presented by Secret:

Player (Team) Votes
Teresa Edwards (Minnesota Lynx) 16
Allison Feaster (Charlotte Sting) 7
Elena Baranova (New York Liberty) 4
Kayte Christensen (Phoenix Mercury) 3
Murriel Page (Washington Mystics) 3
Ruth Riley (Detroit Shock) 3
Semeka Randall (San Antonio Silver Stars) 3
Taj McWilliams-Franklin (Connecticut Sun) 3
Lady Grooms (Sacramento Monarchs) 2
Stephanie White (Indiana Fever) 2
Tiffani Johnson (Houston Comets) 2

All-Time Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award Winners
2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs
2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury
2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty
2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting
1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks

About Procter & Gamble
Two billion times a day, P&G brands touch the lives of people around the world. The company has one of the strongest portfolios of trusted, quality, leadership brands, including Pampers®, Tide®, Ariel®, Always®, Whisper®, Pantene®, Bounty®, Pringles®, Folgers®, Charmin®, Downy®, Lenor®, Iams®, Crest®, Actonel®, Olay® and Clairol Nice ‘n Easy®, Head & Shoulders®, and Wella. The P&G community consists of almost 110,000 employees working in over 80 countries worldwide. Please visit http://www.pg.com for the latest news and in-depth information about P&G and its brands.

Four networks will carry 2004 WNBA Playoffs action, which tips-off on September 24. ABC, ESPN2, NBA TV and Oxygen provide coverage through the Conference Finals. The 2004 WNBA Finals will be televised exclusively on ESPN2.