2006 WNBA Award Winners

Most Valuable Player
Sparks center Lisa Leslie won the WNBA MVP award, her third such award in her illustrious career. While leading the Sparks to the best record in the Western Conference (25-9), Leslie also led the league in double-doubles (17) and defensive rebounds (240); ranked second in total rebounds (323) and blocks (57); third in points (680), free throws (158) and field goals made (257), and sixth in field-goal percentage (51.1 percent). So dominant was Leslie’s performance that she led Los Angeles in both points and rebounds in the same game in 16 of the Sparks’ 34 contests.

2006 All-WNBA Teams

Lisa Leslie, Lauren Jackson, Tamika Catchings, Katie Douglas and Diana Taurasi were chosen First Team All-WNBA. Cheryl Ford, Alana Beard, Taj McWilliams-Franklin, Seimone Augustus and Sheryl Swoopes make up the Second Team.

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

Dawn Staley of the Houston Comets was named the recipient of the 2006 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award. Staley, who has announced her retirement following the end of the season, becomes the first two-time winner of the award.

Rookie of the Year
Lynx guard Seimone Augustus was named the 2006 WNBA Rookie of the Year. The first overall selection in the 2006 WNBA Draft, Augustus had one of the best seasons for a rookie in WNBA history and finished second in the WNBA in scoring, the first rookie to top 20 points per game.
Augustus, Pondexter headline All-Rookie Team
Seimone Augustus 2006 photo gallery

Coach of the Year

Connecticut Sun coach Mike Thibault was named 2005 WNBA Coach of the Year on August 20 after leading his team to its third straight regular season Conference title. Thibault has led the Sun to the Finals the previous two seasons.
Mike Thibault 2006 photo gallery

Most Improved Player

Monarchs forward Erin Buescher was named the recipient of the 2006 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year award. On the season, Buescher averaged 9.7 points and 3.9 rebounds -- up from 3.3 points and 1.3 rebounds from a year ago.

Defensive Player of the Year

Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings was named the 2006 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year for the first time in her career. Catchings lead the league in steals this season and anchored one of the best defenses on the league, leading the Fever in steals and rebounds, not to mention points, assists and blocks.
Tamika Catchings 2006 photo gallery

All-Defensive Team Selections

In addition to Defensive Player of the Year Tamika Catchings, Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie, Former Defensive Player of the Year Sheryl Swoopes and 2006 All-Star Game MVP Katie Douglas headline the 2006 WNBA All-Defensive Team. Ten players make up the First and Seconds Teams.

Peak Performers

Mercury guard Diana Taurasi, Detroit's Cheryl Ford and Washington's Nikki Teasley have been named the 2006 WNBA Peak Performers. Taurasi led the WNBA in scoring with 25.3 points a game. Ford led the WNBA in rebounding, finishing with 11.3 boards per game. Teasley finished the 2006 season with 5.4 assists per game. Both Taurasi and Ford's marks set new WNBA single-season records

Past Award Winners

1997 1998 1999
2000 2001 2002
2003 2004 2005