2004 WNBA Award Winners

Check out all of the winners in the 2004 WNBA Awards Photo Gallery.

MVP presented by General Motors

Lisa Leslie of the Los Angeles Sparks was named the 2004 WNBA MVP presented by General Motors. Leslie led the Sparks to the best record in the WNBA as well as led the league in rebounding en route to her second MVP Award.
Leslie MVP announcement transcript

All-WNBA Team presented by Bud Light

Lisa Leslie of the Los Angeles Sparks makes her sixth appearance on the 2004 All-WNBA First Team presented by Bud Light. Joining Leslie are Seattle's Lauren Jackson and Sue Bird, Houston's Tina Thompson and Rookie of the Year Diana Taurasi.

Rookie of the Year

Diana Taurasi of the Phoenix Mercury was named the 2004 WNBA Rookie of the Year. Taurasi led all rookies in scoring with 17.0 points per game and 3-pointers (62). She helped lead the Mercury out of the cellar and all the way to the verge of a playoff berth in just one season.

Most Improved Player

Wendy Palmer of the Connecticut Sun and Kelly Miller of the Indiana Fever were named the co-recipients of the 2004 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year award. On the season, Palmer averaged 9.0 points and 5.5 rebounds -- up from 4.7 points and 3.3 rebounds a year ago. Miller averaged 10.2 points and 3.1 assists per game in her first season with the Fever -- up from 5.6 points and 1.4 assists in 2003.

Cascade Dish & Assist Award

Nikki Teasley of the Los Angeles Sparks was named the 2004 Cascade Dish & Assist Award winner. After dethroning Sacramento's Ticha Penicheiro, who had led the WNBA in assists in each of her six seasons, Teasley finished the 2004 season dishing out 6.1 assists per game.

Defensive Player of the YearPresented by Tampax

Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie was named the 2004 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year for the first time in her career. She was previously honored as the league's top defender in 2000 and 2002. Swoopes led the WNBA in steals this season with 2.48 per game.

Bud Light Peak Performers

Los Angeles' Lisa Leslie and Seattle's Lauren Jackson have been named the 2003 WNBA Bud Light Peak Performers. Jackson led the WNBA in scoring with 20.5 points a game. Leslie led the WNBA in rebounding, finishing with 9.9 boards per game.

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award presented by Secret

Teresa Edwards of the Minnesota Lynx was named the recipient of the 2004 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award presented by Secret. In only her second WNBA season, the five-time Olympian and 40 year-old guard provided much-needed leadership for a young Lynx team.

Coach of the Year

Minnesota Lynx coach Suzie McConnell Serio was named 2004 WNBA Coach of the Year on September 25 after leading her team to its second consecutive playoff appearance. Despite the loss of Olympian Katie Smith in mid-July, the Lynx finished in third place in the Western Conference.