Anne Donovan and Mike Thibault Named Coaches for 2005 WNBA All-Star Game

The WNBA announced today the head coaches of the 2005 WNBA All-Star Game will be Anne Donovan of the Seattle Storm and Mike Thibault of the Connecticut Sun. Donovan and Thibault will lead the Western and Eastern Conference All-Stars, respectively. WNBA All-Star head coaches are selected based on their teams' conference champion finish in the previous season.

The 2005 WNBA All-Star Game will be hosted by the Connecticut Sun on Saturday, July 9 at the Mohegan Sun Arena. The game will be televised nationally on ABC at 4:00 p.m. EDT.

Donovan has the distinction of being the only head coach in the history of the WNBA to lead two different teams to the WNBA Finals. First, with the Charlotte Sting in 2001 and last season with the Seattle Storm. Thibault has led the Sun to two Eastern Conference Finals and one WNBA Finals since taking over the Connecticut franchise at the beginning of the 2003 season.

Donovan's assistants will be Jenny Boucek and Jessie Kenlaw, and Thibault's assistants will be Scott Hawk and Bernadette Mattox.

Starters for the WNBA All-Star Game will be determined by fan balloting which began on May 28. Fans in all 13 WNBA cities can make their All-Star selections during special in-arena balloting nights and by going online to The WNBA All-Star Balloting Program will be conducted through June 23, and reserve players will subsequently be selected by the League's Eastern and Western Conference head coaches.

2005 WNBA All-Star tickets are currently on sale and can be purchased by calling 1-877-WNBA-TIX, through all Ticketmaster outlets, on-line at and as well as the Mohegan Sun box office. Ticket prices start at $15.

The WNBA tipped off its ninth season on Saturday, May 21, 2005 under the leadership of new President Donna Orender. In 2004, for the sixth consecutive season, more than two million fans attended WNBA games. Also in 2004, three consecutive WNBA Finals sellout crowds witnessed the Seattle Storm defeat the Connecticut Sun to capture its first WNBA Championship. WNBA programming is broadcast on ABC, ESPN, ESPN2 and NBA-TV.