Sheryl Swoopes and Tamika Catchings Lead 2005 WNBA All-Star Balloting

NEW YORK, JUNE 14 - Houston Comets forward Sheryl Swoopes leads all Western Conference players, and Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings tops the Eastern Conference in votes received after the first returns of the 2005 WNBA All-Star Balloting Program. Swoopes, who led the WNBA in All-Star votes in 1999, 2000, 2002 and 2003, maintains an overall lead over Catchings and Seattle's Sue Bird.

Swoopes and Catchings lead the way so far.
Bill Baptist/NBAE/Getty Images
Starters for the 2005 WNBA All-Star Game will be determined by fan balloting, which began on May 28 and runs through June 23. Reserve players will subsequently be selected by the League's Eastern and Western Conference head coaches. The first return results reflect fan voting from in-arena ballots from all 13 WNBA cities and online balloting on

Swoopes, who is third in the league in scoring (19.1), first in steals (2.88) and 12th in assists (3.8), leads all players with 58,250 votes. The other leading candidates in the Western Conference are: Seattle Storm forward Lauren Jackson (42,921 votes); Seattle guard Sue Bird (57,588 votes); Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi (51,389 votes); and Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie (45,268 votes).

Catchings, who is currently averaging 14.2 points, 5.9 rebounds, 4.2 assists and 2.12 steals, has tallied 54,028 votes. The other leading candidates in the Eastern Conference are:

Detroit Shock forward Swin Cash (44,224 votes); Detroit center Ruth Riley (45,379 votes); New York Liberty guard Becky Hammon (31,058 votes); and Washington Mystics guard Alana Beard (30,079 votes).

The 2005 WNBA All-Star Game will be hosted by the Connecticut Sun on Saturday, July 9 at the Mohegan Sun Arena. The game will be televised nationally on ABC at 4:00 p.m. EDT.

2005 WNBA All-Star tickets are currently on sale and can be purchased by calling 1-877-WNBA-TIX, through all Ticketmaster outlets, on-line at and as well as the Mohegan Sun box office. Ticket prices start at $15.

The WNBA tipped off its ninth season on Saturday, May 21, 2005 under the leadership of new President Donna Orender. In 2004, for the sixth consecutive season, more than two million fans attended WNBA games. Also in 2004, three consecutive WNBA Finals sellout crowds witnessed the Seattle Storm defeat the Connecticut Sun to capture its first WNBA Championship. WNBA programming is broadcast on ABC, ESPN, ESPN2 and NBA-TV. For more information, visit
Complete first return voting results from the 2005 WNBA All-Star Balloting Program follow.


Forwards: Sheryl Swoopes (Hou) 58,250; Lauren Jackson (Sea) 42,921; Chamique Holdsclaw (LA) 41,429; Janeth Arcain (Hou) 13,406; Svetlana Abrosimova (Min) 10,290; Penny Taylor (Pho) 8519; DeMya Walker (Sac) 8420; Tamika Williams (Min) 7940; LaToya Thomas (SA) 7873; Alicia Thompson (Sea) 7477; Mwadi Mabika (LA) 7386; Kendra Wecker (SA) 6828; Rebekkah Brunson (Sac) 5034; Sandora Irvin (Pho) 4078.

Centers: Lisa Leslie (LA) 45,268; Yolanda Griffith (Sac) 25,448; Michelle Snow (Hou) 18,306; Nicole Ohlde (Min) 10,032; Suzy Batkovic (Sea) 7596; Kamila Vodichkova (Pho) 6008; Adrian Williams (SA) 3531.

Guards: Sue Bird (Sea) 57,588; Diana Taurasi (Pho) 51,389; Betty Lennox (Sea) 16,578; Ticha Penicheiro (Sac) 14,847; Nikki Teasley (LA) 14,122; Katie Smith (Min) 12,026; Marie Ferdinand (SA) 11,170; Dominique Canty (Hou) 9268; Kara Lawson (Sac) 8535; Shannon Johnson (SA) 8403; Anna DeForge (Pho) 7950; Tamecka Dixon (LA) 7399; Adrienne Goodson (Hou) 6620; Kristi Harrower (Min) 3381.


Forwards: Tamika Catchings (Ind) 54,028; Swin Cash (Det) 44,224; Cheryl Ford (Det) 27,854; Taj McWilliams-Franklin (CT) 22,239; Katie Douglas (CT) 17,786; DeLisha Milton-Jones (Was) 11,628; Natalie Williams (Ind) 9973; Elena Baranova (NY) 9349; Crystal Robinson (NY) 8946; Tangela Smith (Cha) 7303; Tammy Sutton-Brown (Cha) 5145; Murriel Page (Was) 4900.

Centers: Ruth Riley (Det) 45,379; Margo Dydek (CT) 21,177; Kelly Schumacher (Ind) 13,041; Chasity Melvin (Was) 12,031; Ann Wauters (NY) 11,284; Janel McCarville (Cha) 11,200.

Guards: Becky Hammon (NY) 31,058; Alana Beard (Was) 30,079; Lindsay Whalen (CT) 29,379; Deanna Nolan (Det) 28,283; Dawn Staley (Cha) 26,032; Nykesha Sales (CT) 24,439; Vickie Johnson (NY) 11,317; Tan White (Ind) 9861; Elaine Powell (Det) 9431; Kelly Miller (Ind) 9272; Coco Miller (Was) 7175; Allison Feaster (Cha) 6477.