2004 All-WNBA First Team and 2004 All-WNBA Second Team Presented by Bud Light Announced

Untitled Document

NEW YORK, October 8 – For the fifth consecutive season, and sixth time in eight years, Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie occupies the center spot on the 2004 All-WNBA First Team presented by Bud Light. Leslie’s six appearances on the team are a league record. All-WNBA First Team forwards are 2003 WNBA League MVP Lauren Jackson of the Seattle Storm, a two-time honoree, and Tina Thompson of the Houston Comets, a three-time First Team performer. Seattle Storm point guard Sue Bird was named to the First Team for the third time in her three years in the league, and 2004 WNBA Rookie of the Year Diana Taurasi became just the third rookie (Bird 2002, Tamika Catchings 2002) to earn a spot among the league’s top five players.

The 2004 All-WNBA Second Team presented by Bud Light features three Olympians – Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, Detroit Shock forward Swin Cash and Sacramento Monarchs center Yolanda Griffith. Rounding out the Second Team are guards Nikki Teasley of the Los Angeles Sparks and Nykesha Sales of the Connecticut Sun.

Each All-WNBA player will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy. In addition, Bud Light will present $10,000 to each member of the First Team and $5,000 to each member of the Second Team.

"Since the WNBA began, Bud Light has been there to support the league and recognize those players who set the standard for excellence in women's professional basketball," said Tony Ponturo, vice president, Global Media and Sports Marketing for Anheuser-Busch, Inc. "Bud Light is proud to continue its sponsorship of the WNBA."

Players named to the 2004 All-WNBA First and Second Teams were selected, by position, from a panel of national sportswriters and broadcasters, with First Team votes receiving five points and Second Team votes receiving three votes.

Below are the results of the balloting:


Position Player Total Points
Center Lisa Leslie (Los Angeles Sparks) 236
Forward Lauren Jackson (Seattle Storm) 228
Forward Tina Thompson (Houston Comets) 165
Guard Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury) 213
Guard Sue Bird (Seattle Storm) 154


Position Player Total Points
Center Yolanda Griffith (Sacramento Monarchs) 90
Forward Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever) 148
Forward Swin Cash (Detroit Shock) 137
Guard Nikki Teasley (Los Angeles Sparks) 92
Guard Nykesha Sales (Connecticut Sun) 78

Other players receiving votes:

Center – Taj McWilliams-Franklin, Connecticut Sun (36), Tammy Sutton-Brown, Charlotte Sting (6), Nicole Ohlde, Minnesota Lynx (6), Ruth Riley, Detroit Shock (3), Michelle Snow, Houston Comets (3).
Forwards – Sheryl Swoopes, Houston Comets (29), Cheryl Ford, Detroit Shock (23), Elena Baranova, New York Liberty (15), Crystal Robinson, New York Liberty (9), Penny Taylor, Phoenix Mercury (3), LaToya Thomas, San Antonio Silver Stars (3).
Guards – Katie Smith, Minnesota Lynx (70), Dawn Staley, Charlotte Sting (38), Becky Hammon, New York Liberty (36), Alana Beard, Washington Mystics (26), Anna DeForge, Phoenix Mercury (21), Lindsay Whalen, Connecticut Sun (18), Mwadi Mabika, Los Angeles Sparks (16), Deanna Nolan, Detroit Shock (12), Tamecka Dixon, Los Angeles Sparks (3), Betty Lennox, Seattle Storm (3).

Based in St. Louis, Anheuser-Busch Cos. Inc. is the leading U.S. brewer and holds a 50 percent share in Grupo Modelo, Mexico's leading brewer. In a survey of 10,000 business leaders and securities analysts, Anheuser-Busch ranked first overall in quality of products and services among nearly 600 companies researched in FORTUNE magazine's 2004 "America's Most Admired Companies" listing. The company also is one of the largest theme park operators in the United States, is a major manufacturer of aluminum cans and is the world's largest recycler of aluminum beverage containers. For more information, visit www.anheuser-busch.com or www.budweiser.com.

The WNBA Finals will be shown exclusively on ESPN2 beginning on Friday, October 8 at 7:30 P.M. from Connecticut's Mohegan Sun Arena. Game 2 will be televised from Seattle’s Key Arena on Sunday, October 10 at 7 P.M. with Game 3, if necessary, being shown from Seattle on Tuesday,
October 12 at 9 P.M.