Women's Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2011 announced during "The Stars at the Sun Game"

July 10, 2010 - The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 13th group of inductees, the Class of 2011, on ESPN during "WNBA vs. USA Basketball: The Stars at the Sun Game" at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. The six members of the Class of 2011 are: Val Ackerman (contributor), Ruthie Bolton (player), Vicky Bullett (player), Muffet McGraw (coach), Pearl Moore (player) and Lometa Odom (player).

The announcement marks the fourth time in the Hall of Fame's 12-year history that the upcoming class of inductees has been announced during a WNBA event in July. Prior to making the announcement during the WNBA season, it had been tradition for the new inductees to be unveiled during the State Farm Tip-Off Classic each year in November. The Class of 2011 will be formally introduced to the world at the 2010 State Farm Tip-Off Classic. Details for the 2010 SFTOC and the 2011 WBHOF Induction will be announced at a later date.

With the addition of the Class of 2011, the list of individuals who have been recognized as Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inductees will increase to 121.

The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining which individuals will be inducted each year. Voting is based on various factors, which may include moral character, integrity, sportsmanship, record of performance, ability, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women's basketball.

In order to be considered for selection for induction, an individual must meet the following prerequisites:

  • Player: Must be retired from the highest level of play for at least five years
  • Coach: Must have coached the women's game at least 20 years
  • Referee: Must have officiated the women's game at least 10 years
  • Contributor: Must have significantly impacted the game of women's basketball

    VAL ACKERMAN (Contributor)
    Ackerman was the WNBA's first president, guiding the league to a much-heralded launch in 1997 and overseeing the day-to-day operations for its first eight years. A USA Basketball board member since 1989, Ackerman was the driving force behind the Women's Senior National Team that produced a 60-0 record and won the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta. In 2005, she became the first woman to serve as President of USA Basketball, which oversees the U.S. Men's and Women's Olympic basketball programs. A four-year starter and two-time All-American at the University of Virginia, Ackerman played professionally in France for one year.

    RUTHIE BOLTON (Player)
    A two-time Olympic Gold Medalist and WNBA All-Star, Bolton scored over 2,000 career points, is fourth on the WNBA's all-time 3-pointer list and is the only player in the history of the Sacramento Monarchs to have her number retired. She was the first WNBA Player of the Week in July of 1997. She was the 1991 USA Basketball Female Athlete of the year. In four seasons at Auburn, Bolton led her team to a combined record of 119-13, which included three Southeastern Conference Championships, four NCAA Tournament appearances and two runner-up finishes (1988 and 1989).

    VICKY BULLETT (Player)
    Bullett was a 1989 Kodak All-American for the University of Maryland, where over the course of her career she averaged 16.9 points and 5.8 rebounds per game to become one of the most decorated players in Maryland history. Bullett was a member of three ACC Championship teams en route to being named the 1989 ACC Player of the Year and ACC Tournament MVP. A two-time Olympian, Bullett was a member of the USA Women's Basketball team that won gold in 1988 and captured bronze in 1992. She played six seasons in the WNBA, scoring 2,018 points.

    As head coach at Notre Dame, McGraw led the Irish to the 2001 NCAA Division I National Championship and was named 2001 Naismith, Associated Press, WBCA and U.S. Basketball Writers Association National Coach of the Year. She was the 2009 Carol Eckman Award Recipient. In 23 seasons at ND, McGraw has led her teams to two Final Fours, eight Sweet Sixteen appearances and 20 seasons with 20-or-more victories. She was a member of the USA Basketball Women's Collegiate Committee and a past president of the WBCA's Board of Directors.

    PEARL MOORE (Player)
    A four-time All-American, Moore is the all-time career-scoring leader for women's college basketball (4,061 points). After scoring 177 points in eight games at Anderson Junior College, Moore transferred to Francis Marion where she played from 1975-79. She was the 1979 SCAIAW and American Women's Sports Foundation Small College Player of the Year. She was a final nominee for the 1978 Wade Trophy. Moore was a first-round draft choice in the WBL and participated in the 1981 WBL All-Star game. She also played one season in Venezuela. Moore was inducted into the Francis Marion Hall of Fame in 1992.

    LOMETA ODOM (Player)
    In four seasons with the Wayland Baptist Flying Queens, Odom compiled a record of 115-5 and was the first Wayland Baptist player to pick up four consecutive AAU All-America Honors. She set the scoring record with 78 points in one game and was named the 1956 AAU Tournament MVP. Odom finished her career with 1,614 points. She was the first woman inducted into the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame and the Texas Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame.