WNBA and Mystics Draft Facts

  • The WNBA is celebrating its 15th season. In October of 1997, the league announced that Washington would join the league for the 1998 season. In December of that year, the team was named the Washington Mystics.
  • The Mystics will have the 11th, 23rd and 35th picks in this year’s draft. It will be the first time that the team will have the 11th pick in the first round of the draft.
  • In 1997, players such as Rebecca Lobo, Cynthia Cooper and Lisa Leslie were allocated to teams. The league’s first 16 players were assigned to the first eight teams in the WNBA. These players included members of the 1996 Olympic team. Tina Thompson was the first player ever drafted. She played for the Houston Comets and helped them win four titles. Thompson currently plays for the Los Angeles Sparks and has scored more points (6,413) than any other player in WNBA history. She has been named to the WNBA All-Decade team.
  • The first teams to join the league were: Charlotte, Cleveland, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Phoenix, Sacramento and Utah
  • The Mystics WNBA 1999 draft pick, Chamique Holdsclaw is the only number one pick in draft history to win the WNBA Rookie of the Year award and start in the WNBA All-Star Game, all in the same season.
  • The Mystics first ever draft was the 1998 Expansion draft. They acquired Heidi Burge from the Los Angeles Sparks.
  • The Mystics first ever draft pick in the WNBA college draft was Murriel Page, as the third overall pick. She was drafted as a forward/center from the University of Florida.
  • Drafted by the Mystics in the Expansion Draft in 1998, at the time Heidi Burge, along with her twin sister were the world’s tallest female twins.
  • With the second pick in the Houston dispersal draft and the 2009 WNBA Draft, the Mystics selected Matee Ajavon and Marissa Coleman.