Washington, D.C. –The WNBA announced today that the league will hold a Dispersal Draft on Monday, December 8th as the Houston Comets will suspend operations for the 2009 WNBA season. The Washington Mystics will have the second pick in the Dispersal Draft based on its record for the 2008 season.

"First and foremost, I would like to thank the people (players, fans, coaches, and staff) who were a part of twelve amazing seasons of WNBA basketball in Houston. I remember witnessing so many special moments during their championship runs while working at the league office and am grateful for those historical contributions,” said Taylor. “In regards to the dispersal draft, we feel that with the second pick, we will add a quality player to our roster. Houston was a team that finished only a few games out of the playoffs last season, so while we are still saddened by the loss of the Comets franchise, we are excited about selecting a player who will help us build a playoff caliber roster."

All players on the Comets roster, excluding unrestricted free agents Latasha Byears, Mwadi Mabika, Hamchetou Maiga-Ba, Michelle Snow and Tina Thompson, are eligible to be selected in the Dispersal Draft. The order of selection, based on the inverse order of 2008 regular season finish will be as follows:

Dispersal Draft Order

1) Atlanta (4-30)
2) Washington (10-24)
3) Chicago (12-22)
4) Minnesota (16-18)
5) Phoenix (16-18)
6) Indiana (17-17)
7) Sacramento (18-16)
8) New York (19-15)
9) Los Angeles (20-14)
10) Connecticut (21-13)
11) Detroit (22-12)
12) Seattle (22-12)
13) San Antonio (24-10)

The Washington Mystics organization is dedicated to providing affordable entertainment, serving as an impactful community partner and maintaining accessibility to positive female role models. Supported by passionate fans, the Mystics are elite, hardworking athletes continually striving to win a Championship.