Diana Taurasi and Jennifer Gillom Among All-Decade Team Nominees


Posted: April, 27, 2006

With the WNBA’s 10th Anniversary season set to tip off on May 20, 2006, the league today announced the names of 30 nominees for the 10 coveted spots on the WNBA All-Decade Team. The list of players – selected by a panel of national media, coaches, former players and WNBA personnel – includes seven of the league’s original players and represents the very best in women’s professional basketball.

Voting for the WNBA All-Decade Team will begin this Friday, and will be conducted among fans, select national and WNBA-market media, and current WNBA players and coaches. Fans are encouraged to vote by logging onto WNBA.com. The All-Decade Team will be announced in June and honored at the 2006 WNBA All-Star Game set to take place at Madison Square Garden in New York on July 12.

The league’s official Web site will feature a special section dedicated to the All-Decade Team, complete with player histories, statistics and video highlights of each nominee. The new WNBA.com History section, in which the voting will take place, may also serve as a resource for fans and media alike, providing career statistical leaders, award winners, season recaps and more. Fans will be able to vote daily for their All-Decade Team players once per day.

“We view the celebration of our 10th anniversary as a way to mark the accomplishments of our past and embrace our vision for the future,” said WNBA President Donna Orender. “The selection of the WNBA All-Decade Team will enable our fans and the league to honor the players who have contributed so much to the growth of the WNBA and of women’s basketball.”

Members of the All-Decade team will be selected on the basis of their overall contribution to the WNBA, with consideration given to on-court performance and ability, leadership, sportsmanship and community service, as well as contribution to team success and the growth of women’s basketball.

In addition to selecting an All-Decade Team, the WNBA will celebrate its 10th Anniversary season by providing fans an opportunity to determine the Greatest Moments in league history and through a season-long initiative, “10 Years of Caring,” where all teams will demonstrate their continued commitment to their communities.

Below is a list of the 30 nominees for the WNBA All-Decade Team.

Janeth Arcain
Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Sue Bird
Seattle Storm (2002-Current)
Ruthie Bolton
Sacramento Monarchs (1997-2004)
Swin Cash
Detroit Shock (2002-Current)
Tamika Catchings
Indiana Fever (2001-Current)
Cynthia Cooper
Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2003)
Tamecka Dixon
Houston Comets (Current) Los Angeles Sparks (1997-2005)
Jennifer Gillom
Los Angeles Sparks (2003) Phoenix Mercury (1997-2002)
Yolanda Griffith
Los Angeles Sparks (2003) Sacramento Monarchs (1999-Current)
Becky Hammon
New York Liberty (1999-Current)
Chamique Holdsclaw
Los Angeles Sparks(2005-Current) Washington Mystics (1999-2004)
Lauren Jackson
Seattle Storm (2001-Current)
Shannon Johnson
San Antonio Silver Stars (2004-Current) Connecticut Sun(2003), Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
Vickie Johnson
San Antonio Silver Stars (Current) New York Liberty (1997-2005)
Lisa Leslie
Los Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Rebecca Lobo
Connecticut Sun (2003) Houston Comets (2002), NewYork Liberty (1997-2001)
Mwadi Mabika
Los Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Taj McWilliams-Franklin
Connecticut Sun (2003-Current) Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
DeLisha Milton-Jones
Washington Mystics (2005-Current) Los Angeles Sparks (1999-2004)
Deanna Nolan
Detroit Shock (2001-Current)
Ticha Penicheiro
Sacramento Monarchs (1998-Current)
Nykesha Sales
Connecticut Sun (2003-Current) Orlando Miracle(1999-2002)
Katie Smith
Detroit Shock (2005-Current) Minnesota Lynx (1999-2005)
Dawn Staley
Houston Comets (2005-Current) Charlotte Sting (1999-2005)
Andrea Stinson
Detroit Shock (2005) Charlotte Sting (1997-2004)
Sheryl Swoopes
Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Diana Taurasi
Phoenix Mercury (2004-Current)
Tina Thompson
Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Teresa Weatherspoon
Los Angeles Sparks (2004) NewYork Liberty (1997-2003)
Natalie Williams
Indiana Fever (2003-2005) Utah Starzz (1999)