Team honored following WNBA Finals Victory

Wheaties® Honors WNBA Champion Phoenix Mercury

Posted: Oct. 10, 2007

Wheaties will issue a special-edition commemorative package honoring the 2007 WNBA Champion Phoenix Mercury following their victory over the Detroit Shock in the WNBA Finals.

Phoenix earned its first WNBA title in franchise history by defeating the defending champion Shock three games to two in the best of five championship series and, in the process, became the first team in league history to win the title-clinching game on the road.

Under the direction of Head Coach Paul Westhead, the high-energy squad brought a fast-paced, aggressive game to the playoffs. Phoenix burst ahead midway through the first quarter of the final game and never looked back as its trio of All-Stars – Diana Taurasi, Cappie Pondexter and Penny Taylor – were nearly flawless. Pondexter scored 26 points and dished out 10 assists in the final game to take home the coveted Finals MVP award. Taylor’s 30 points, including a Finals record 18-for-18 effort from the free throw line, and Taurasi’s 17 points, seven rebounds and six assists helped secure the Mercury championship.

This package marks the fourth time Wheaties has honored WNBA players and teams in the league’s 11-year history. Released in 2004, the first WNBA-themed Wheaties box recognized stars from three championship teams, including the Shock, Houston Comets and Los Angeles Sparks. Other WNBA Champions that have been honored by Wheaties include the Sacramento Monarchs in 2005 and the Detroit Shock in 2006.

A photo of the team appears on the front panel. The 10.9-ounce Phoenix Mercury box will be available nationally beginning this month.