Fifth consecutive start for Mercury guard

Taurasi Voted as WNBA All-Star Game Starter

Posted: Juy 14, 2011

Mercury guard Diana Taurasi has been voted as a starter for the Western Conference in the WNBA All-Star Game for the fifth consecutive year. Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings led all players with 32,706 votes in the 2011 WNBA All-Star Balloting. Catchings received the most votes for the third time in her career, having also achieved the mark in 2006 and 2009. Seattle Storm guard Sue Bird (25,077), the second leading vote-getter, paced the Western Conference. Taurasi finished with the third-most votes overall.

Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore (21,379), the first overall selection in the 2011 WNBA Draft presented by Adidas, is the first rookie voted to start in the WNBA All-Star game since Catchings and Bird in 2002.

The 2011 WNBA All-Star Game will be nationally broadcast on ABC, Saturday, July 23 at 3:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. CT) from San Antonio. It is the first time the San Antonio Silver Stars are hosting the WNBA’s midseason showcase.

Joining Catchings in the Eastern Conference starting lineup are New York Liberty guard Cappie Pondexter (20,226), Indiana guard Katie Douglas (18,598), Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles (17,205) and Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry (14,310). It is the first time Pondexter has been voted a starter in her fourth All-Star selection. For Charles and McCoughtry, the last two Rookie of the Year winners, it marks the first time each has been named a WNBA All-Star.

Selected as starters for the Western Conference alongside Bird and Moore are Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi (22,406), the third leading vote-getter, Los Angeles Sparks center Candace Parker (19,376) and Storm forward Swin Cash (14,907).

Catchings (2002-03, 2005-07, 2009, 2011), Bird (2002-03, 2005-07, 2009, 2011) and Taurasi (2005-07, 2009, 2011) have been voted starters for every WNBA All-Star Game since they entered the league.

Following are the starting lineups for the 2011 WNBA All-Star Game:

Eastern Conference Starters:
Tamika Catchings, Forward (Indiana Fever)
Angel McCoughtry, Forward (Atlanta Dream)
Tina Charles, Center (Connecticut Sun)
Katie Douglas, Guard (Indiana Fever)
Cappie Pondexter, Guard (New York Liberty)

Western Conference Starters:
Swin Cash, Forward (Seattle Storm)
Maya Moore, Forward (Minnesota Lynx)
Candace Parker, Center (Los Angeles Sparks)
Sue Bird, Guard (Seattle Storm)
Diana Taurasi, Guard (Phoenix Mercury)

The 12 WNBA head coaches will select the reserves by voting for six players within their own conference, including two guards, two forwards, one center and one player regardless of position. Coaches are not permitted to vote for players on their own team. The league will announce the reserves during a nationally televised game between the Storm and the Chicago Sky on ESPN2, Tuesday, July 19 at 7 p.m. ET.

Replacement players, who will take the roster spot of players who cannot play due to injury, will be named by the WNBA President. Any changes to the starting lineup necessitated by injury would be made by the head coach of the respective All-Star team.

By virtue of winning their respective conference titles last season, Seattle’s Brian Agler will coach the Western Conference, and the Eastern Conference will be led by Atlanta’s Marynell Meadors. Individual tickets are available to the general public at all San Antonio Ticketmaster locations, including by phone at (210) 225-TEAM, or online at or Tickets can also be purchased at the AT&T Center Southeast Box Office Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. or on weekend event days starting at 10 a.m. or by calling (210) 444-5090.



Forwards: Maya Moore (Minn) 21,379; Swin Cash (Sea) 14,907; Rebekkah Brunson (Minn) 12,223; Tina Thompson (LA) 11,813; Penny Taylor (Phx) 9,666; Sophia Young (SA) 9,553; Candice Dupree (Phx) 9,013; Camille Little (Sea) 5,462; Ruth Riley (SA) 5,430; Sheryl Swoopes (Tul) 5,031; Delisha Milton-Jones (LA) 4,049

Centers: Candace Parker (LA) 19,376; Lauren Jackson (Sea) 12,529; Taj McWilliams-Franklin (Minn) 8,572; Jayne Appel (SA) 5,315; Elizabeth Cambage (Tul) 4,217

Guards: Sue Bird (Sea) 25,077; Diana Taurasi (Phx) 22,406; Becky Hammon (SA) 16,538; Seimone Augustus (Minn) 10,119; Lindsay Whalen (Minn) 7,228; Kristi Toliver (LA) 5,498; Jia Perkins (SA) 4,980; Ivory Latta (Tul) 4,666; Ticha Penicheiro (LA) 4,624


Forwards: Tamika Catchings (Ind) 32,706; Angel McCoughtry (Atl) 14,310; Asjha Jones (Conn) 9,767; Crystal Langhorne (Wash) 7,274; Plenette Pierson (NY) 6,985; Tangela Smith (Ind) 6,145; Nicole Powell (NY) 5,806; Michelle Snow (Chi) 5,634; Tan White (Conn) 4,341; Marissa Coleman (Wash) 4,200

Centers: Tina Charles (Conn) 17,205; Sylvia Fowles (Chi) 14,544; Nicky Anosike (Wash) 6,386; Tammy Sutton-Brown (Ind) 4,301

Guards: Cappie Pondexter (NY) 20,226; Katie Douglas (Ind) 18,598; Renee Montgomery (Conn) 12,511; Courtney Vandersloot (Chi) 9,560; Kara Lawson (Conn) 9,031; Essence Carson (NY) 4,901; Alana Beard (Wash) 4,855; Epiphanny Prince (Chi) 4,806; Lindsey Harding (Atl) 4,616; Iziane Castro Marques (Atl) 4,418; Kelly Miller (Wash) 3,740; Briann January (Ind) 3,706