Mercury Final Four Picks

Posted: March 17, 2006

It's March...Let the Madness Begin!

With the field set for the 2006 NCAA women’s basketball tournament, the Phoenix Mercury have put together some predictions from some of its players and basketball personnel. March Madness is a great time for all fans of women’s basketball and certainly this year should be as exciting as ever with all the great talent in the collegiate game. Parity rules right now in the women’s game and the opportunity to win the tournament this year is as wide open as it ever has been.

For Mercury fans, the tournament will give you a chance to watch some of the greatest players to ever play the collegiate game compete for a National Championship and for a select group of seniors, play their final games before heading into the WNBA. The Mercury hold the no. 2 pick in the draft and players like Seimone Augustus (LSU, a #1 seed), Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers), Monique Currie (Duke, a #1 seed) and Sophia Young (Baylor) all figure to have big roles in the tournament and ultimately comprise the top group of players selected in the WNBA Draft.

This will also be the first time that the WNBA will hold its annual college Draft in conjunction with the Final Four in Boston. The draft is set for April 5, the day after the national championship game will be played and the first round will be televised by ESPN.

Head Coach Paul Westhead
Final Four: Ohio State, Tennessee, Duke, Oklahoma
Championship Game: Tennessee, Duke
National Champion: Duke

Assistant Coach Julie Brase-Hairgrove
Final Four: Duke, Oklahoma, Baylor, Rutgers
Championship Game: Duke, Rutgers
National Champion: Duke

Diana Taurasi
Final Four: UCLA, UConn, LSU, Ohio State
Championship Game: Ohio State, UConn
National Champion: UConn

Angelina Williams
Final Four: Tennessee, Maryland, Duke, LSU
Championship Game: Tennessee, Duke
National Champion: Tennessee

Shereka Wright
Final Four: North Carolina, Maryland, Duke, Oklahoma
Championship Game: North Carolina, Duke
National Champion: North Carolina

General Manager Seth Sulka
Final Four: North Carolina, Arizona State, UConn, LSU
Champsionship Game: North Carolina, LSU
National Champion: LSU