Moore Named WNBA Rookie of the Year

Moore Led All Rookies in Scoring (13.2 ppg) and Three-Point Field Goals (58); Third Lynx Player in Team History to Win Award

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL -- The WNBA announced today that Lynx forward Maya Moore was named the Rookie of the Year. A national panel of 40 sportswriters and broadcasters awarded Moore the honor. Moore, who received 38 of the possible 40 votes (Danielle Adams, 2), is Minnesota's third Rookie of the Year in franchise history (Betty Lennox, 2000; Seimone Augustus, 2006). Moore will receive the award from WNBA President Laurel Richie during a 5:45 p.m. press conference prior to this evening's Western Conference Semifinal matchup between the Lynx and the San Antonio Silver Stars.

The WNBA's Rookie of the Month for July and August, Moore was selected first overall by the Lynx in last year's WNBA Draft presented by adidas. She led all rookies in points (13.2 ppg), steals (1.4 spg), three-point field goals (58) and minutes (28.0 mpg) while ranking second in rebounding (4.6 rpg) and third in assists (2.6 apg). Moore is the fourth consecutive top overall pick to be named the league's Rookie of the Year, following Tina Charles (2010), Angel McCoughtry (2009) and Candace Parker (2008).

Perhaps Moore’s best stretch of the season came in her last nine regular season games, where she averaged 16.0 points and 6.1 rebounds per game. Included in that stretch was her first career double-double, a 19-point, 12-rebound performance against San Antonio on August 28. Arguably her best game came during an August 9 matchup with the Mercury when she scored a season-high 28 points on 8-of-12 shooting, including 6-of-6 shooting from beyond the arc. Her perfect night from three-point range matched a WNBA record for most three-pointers made without a miss during a game (Tamika Catchings). Moore recorded double-digit points 24 times, and helped the Lynx finish a league best 27-7 and clinch home court throughout the playoffs.

Earlier this season, Moore became the first rookie to be voted into the All-Star Game as a starter since 2002 (Tamika Catchings and Sue Bird). The honor was also the first time in franchise history that a Lynx player has been voted to start an All-Star Game. Moore scored 10 points during the game, all in the second half.

In honor of being named the 2011 Rookie of the Year, Moore will receive $5,000 and a specially designed trophy by Tiffany & Co.
For more news and notes on the team follow the Minnesota Lynx on Twitter. Visit the Lynx official Facebook Page here.