Lynx Finalize 2012 Roster

The Minnesota Lynx today announced the team has waived guard Queralt Casas and forward Julie Wojta. The moves finalized the team’s roster for Sunday’s Home Opener, presented by General Mills, on May 20 vs. Phoenix at 11:30 a.m. The team returns nine players from the championship winning roster in 2011.

Highlighting the team’s 11-player roster are three Olympians – guard/forward Seimone Augustus, forward Maya Moore and guard Lindsay Whalen. The final Lynx roster also includes 2011 WNBA All-Star Rebekkah Brunson, who set a franchise record by pulling in 205 defensive rebounds last year, as well as Taj McWilliams-Franklin, who enters the season with the second most career rebounds in WNBA history (2,836).

Also returning from last year’s team is guard Candice Wiggins, guard/forward Monica Wright, forward Amber Harris and center Jessica Adair. Wiggins acted as a sparkplug for the Lynx off the bench last season, shooting a career-best 39.5 percent from three-point range in 17.1 minutes per game. Wright returns after averaging 5.1 points in 13.6 minutes, while Harris and Adair developed into a formidable frontcourt duo during the stretch run last season.

The two new faces on this year’s Lynx squad are forward Devereaux Peters, the third overall pick in this year’s WNBA draft, and veteran guard Erin Thorn. Peters joins the Lynx after finishing her collegiate career as one of just four Division-I players in the last decade to record 60 blocks, 60 steals and 60 assists in two separate seasons. Thorn, a nine-year veteran, joins the Lynx after spending the last three years with the Chicago Sky. She’s a career 37.3 percent shooter from behind the arc, including shooting 40.7 percent from three-point range during her time in Chicago.

Minnesota’s coaching staff returns for its third consecutive season together. Cheryl Reeve, the 2011 WNBA Coach of the Year, is joined behind the bench by assistants Shelley Patterson, entering her third year with the Lynx, and Jim Petersen, entering his fourth year with the team.

The 2011 WNBA Champion Lynx will kick off their title defense with the team's Home Opener, presented by General Mills, on Sunday, May 20 at 11:30 a.m. at Target Center against the Phoenix Mercury on ABC. Prior to the game, the entire 2011 WNBA Championship winning roster will be presented with their championship rings, in addition to the unveiling of the 2011 WNBA Championship. Fans are encouraged to arrive as early as 10:45 a.m. for a chance to be a part of Minnesota sports history. Lower-level tickets for the game are still available for as little as $10 and can be purchased by calling 612-673-8400 or visiting the Lynx website at

2012 Regular Season Roster
Number Name Position Height Birthdate College/From Years
1 Jessica Adair C 6-4 12/19/86 George Washington '09 2
33 Seimone Augustus G 6-0 04/30/84 Louisiana State '06 6
32 Rebekkah Brunson F 6-2 12/11/81 Georgetown '04 8
6 Amber Harris F 6-5 01/16/88 Xavier '11 1
8 Taj McWilliams-Franklin F/C 6-2 10/20/70 St. Edward's '93 13
23 Maya Moore F 6-0 06/11/89 Connecticut '11 1
14 Devereaux Peters F 6-2 10/08/89 Notre Dame '12 R
5 Erin Thorn G 5-9 05/19/81 Brigham Young '03 9
13 Lindsay Whalen G 5-9 05/09/82 Minnesota '04 8
11 Candice Wiggins G 5-11 02/14/87 Stanford '08 4
22 Monica Wright G/F 5-10 07/15/89 Virginia '10 2

For more news and notes on the team follow the Minnesota Lynx on Twitter.