Lynx Sign Rookie Guard Seimone Augustus

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL - The Minnesota Lynx today announced that they have signed the first overall pick in the 2006 WNBA Draft, Seimone Augustus. Per team policy, terms of the agreement were not disclosed.

"We knew when we drafted Seimone that she was the best player in the draft," said Lynx Chief Operating Officer Roger Griffith. "Now that she is signed, we will be able to see her practice and play in a Minnesota Lynx uniform. We are hoping that the 2006 season will be one of the best in franchise history."

Following the WNBA Draft on April 5, Augustus traveled to Australia as a member of the USA Basketball Women’s Senior National Team during its Spring Tour. She averaged 8.3 points, 3.7 rebounds and 19.0 minutes in three games.

Augustus, the NCAA’s leading scorer during the 2005-06 season, averaged 22.7 ppg (.561 FG%), 4.7 rebounds and 1.8 assists in 35 games (all starts). Augustus won the Wade Trophy (best collegiate women's player) in both 2005 and 2006, becoming only the second player ever to win the award twice (Nancy Lieberman - 1979, 1980). The 6-1 guard scored in double figures in 132 of 140 career contests, and led LSU to Final Four appearances in each of her final three seasons. In her four-year career, she finished with averages of 19.3 ppg (.544 FG%), 5.2 rpg and 1.9 apg.

Augustus finished her collegiate career at LSU as the only player in school history to have at least 2,500 points, 600 rebounds and 250 assists. She also ranks among LSU's all-time leaders in the following categories: points (second, 2,702), field goal percentage (sixth, .544), free throw percentage (first, .857), field goals made (second, 1,128), field goals attempted (second, 2,083), free throws made (fourth, 401) and games started (first, 140). In the SEC, Augustus finished fifth all-time in career points, third all-time in career field goals made and fifth all-time in career field goals attempted.

Along with the Wade Trophy, Augustus has earned several other individual awards during her career, including AP Player of the Year (2006, 2005), AP All-America (2006, 2005), SEC Player of the Year (2006, 2005), Kodak All-America (2006, 2005, 2004) and All-SEC First Team (2006, 2005, 2004).