New York Liberty Unveils 2008 Regular Season Schedule

The New York Liberty announced its regular season schedule for 2008, the franchise’s twelfth year as a charter member of the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA). The season will open in front of the team’s home crowd at Madison Square Garden for the fourth time in franchise history, when head coach Pat Coyle leads the Liberty squad against its Eastern Conference rival Connecticut Sun on Sunday, May 18.

“Last year’s Liberty team captured the hearts of New York fans through their tireless effort, team oriented commitment and thrilling playoff run,” said Carol Blazejowski, Senior Vice President and General Manager. “As we look forward to our twelfth WNBA season, we plan to build on the great strides we made last year, with our ultimate goal continuing to be bringing Liberty fans the championship trophy they so deserve. As always, we are committed to continuing to provide our fans with competitive, up tempo basketball in a fun-filled in-arena environment unique to Liberty basketball and the WNBA.”

The Liberty will be featured on national television three times during the 2008 season, with two home matches and one away match. New York native Sue Bird and the Seattle Storm will invade The Garden on Tuesday, June 3, while Rutgers alumna Cappie Pondexter, UConn’s Diana Taurasi and the defending WNBA champion Phoenix Mercury visit New York on Sunday, June 22.

In order to accommodate WNBA players who are expected to represent their individual countries during the 2008 Summer Olympic Games, the league will not play regular season games from July 28 to August 27. The Liberty will resume its season on Thursday, August 28 against the Chicago Sky at The Garden.

Ticket plans for the 2008 Liberty season are currently available by calling 212-465-6073 or by clicking here. Individual tickets will be available for purchase in the spring.

2008 New York Liberty Regular Season Schedule

Date Opponent Time
May 18 Sun Connecticut 4:00 pm
22 Thu Washington 7:30 pm
25 Sun @ Detroit 6:00 pm
30 Fri @ Connecticut 7:00 pm
Jun 3 Tue Seattle 7:30 pm
6 Fri Houston 7:30 pm
8 Sun Sacramento 4:00 pm
11 Wed @ Atlanta 7:00 pm
14 Sat Minnesota 7:30 pm
18 Wed @ Indiana 7:00 pm
22 Sun Phoenix 4:00 pm
24 Tue @ Minnesota 8:00 pm
26 Thu Indiana* 7:00 pm
28 Sat @ Sacramento 10:00 pm
Jul 1 Tue @ Los Angeles 10:30 pm
3 Thu @ Seattle 10:00 pm
5 Sat @ Phoenix 10:00 pm
8 Tue @ San Antonio 8:00 pm
12 Sat Detroit 7:30 pm
15 Tue @ Connecticut* 7:00 pm
17 Thu Washington 7:30 pm
19 Sat Indiana 7:30 pm
23 Wed @ Washington 11:30 am
25 Fri Los Angeles 7:30 pm
27 Sun @ Atlanta 3:00 pm
Aug 28 Thu Chicago 7:30 pm
29 Fri @ Detroit 7:30 pm
Sept 2 Tue @ Houston 8:30 pm
5 Fri Atlanta 7:30 pm
7 Sun Chicago* 1:00 pm
9 Tue San Antonio 7:30 pm
11 Thu @ Indiana 7:00 pm
12 Fri @ Chicago 8:30 pm
14 Sun Detroit 4:00 pm
Asterisk (*) denotes nationally televised game to be aired on ESPN2 or ABC (subject to change)