Catchings Named All-Star Starter For Ninth Time

Official Release | July 8, 2014

NEW YORK, July 8, 2014 – Fever forward Tamika Catchings has been named as a starter for Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2014, the league announced Tuesday. Catchings – the 2011 regular-season MVP and 2012 WNBA Finals MVP – has been voted as a starter for all nine All-Star contests played since her first active season in the WNBA (2002).

"This is truly an amazing time, and a blessing, to be voted in as an All-Star," Catchings said. "I've only played in one game, but my fans have supported me through it all. It is an honor to be voted in by my fans and those who love my game. This doesn't happen to everyone so I am truly appreciative. Thank you to everyone who voted for me, and knew that I would be back this season to play."

Added Fever head coach Lin Dunn: "There is no greater representative than Tamika Catchings! I'm proud of having someone on my team get voted to the All-Star Game by fans when she has missed most of the season. She's the Derek Jeter of the WNBA!"

Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore – MVP of the 2013 WNBA Finals presented by Boost Mobile – led all players with 28,389 votes following final returns of the 2014 WNBA All-Star Balloting presented by Boost Mobile. Chicago Sky frontcourt star Elena Delle Donne – the 2013 WNBA Rookie of the Year and the leading vote-getter for Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star a year ago – topped the Eastern Conference and ranked second overall with 26,129 votes.

Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2014 will take place at US Airways Center in Phoenix on Saturday, July 19, and will be nationally televised on ESPN, with tip-off at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT).

Joining three-time All-Star starter Moore in the Western Conference frontcourt are 2013 regular-season MVP and MVP of Boost Mobile All-Star 2013 Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks (23,555), as well as 2013 WNBA No. 1 overall draft pick Brittney Griner of the Phoenix Mercury (18,432). This marks the third time Parker has been selected as an All-Star starter and the second such honor for Griner. Parker also was selected in 2011 but did not play due to a knee injury, as was the case last season for Griner.

At the backcourt spots for the West will be seven-time All-Star and 2009 regular-season MVP Diana Taurasi of Phoenix (19,404) and Skylar Diggins of the Tulsa Shock (17,937), the No. 3 overall selection in the heralded 2013 draft class. Diggins will be making her first All-Star appearance.

The Western Conference lineup will feature four No. 1 overall draft picks, including the top selections from 2004, 2008, 2011, and 2013 (Taurasi, Parker, Moore, and Griner, respectively).

Also voted to the Eastern Conference frontcourt alongside Delle Donne are Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry (17,562) and Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings (13,939). McCoughtry – the 2009 Rookie of the Year – was a starter in her two prior All-Star appearances. Catchings – the 2011 regular-season MVP and 2012 WNBA Finals MVP – has been voted as a starter for all nine All-Star contests played since her first active season in the WNBA (2002).

The starting guards for the East will be Atlanta’s Shoni Schimmel (25,601) – the No. 8 overall pick this past April – and 2007 WNBA Finals MVP Cappie Pondexter of the New York Liberty (10,104). While Schimmel’s selection as a starter marks the third consecutive Boost Mobile All-Star Game in which a rookie was voted to the starting lineup (Moore, 2011; Delle Donne and Griner, 2013), Pondexter will be making her sixth All-Star appearance and her third in a row as a starter.

Following are the starting lineups for the 2014 Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star Game:

Eastern Conference Starters:
Shoni Schimmel, Guard (Atlanta Dream)
Cappie Pondexter, Guard (New York Liberty)
Elena Delle Donne, Frontcourt (Chicago Sky)
Angel McCoughtry, Frontcourt (Atlanta Dream)
Tamika Catchings, Frontcourt (Indiana Fever)

Western Conference Starters:
Diana Taurasi, Guard (Phoenix Mercury)
Skylar Diggins, Guard (Tulsa Shock)
Maya Moore, Frontcourt (Minnesota Lynx)
Candace Parker, Frontcourt (Los Angeles Sparks)
Brittney Griner, Frontcourt (Phoenix Mercury)

The 12 WNBA head coaches will select the reserves by voting for six players within their own conference, including two guards, three frontcourt players, and a player from either position. Coaches are not permitted to vote for players on their own team. The league will announce the reserves during ESPN2’s national telecast of the Sparks and Fever on Tuesday, July 15 at 8 p.m. ET.

Replacement players, who will take the roster spot of players who cannot play due to injury, will be named by WNBA President Laurel J. Richie. Any changes to the starting lineup necessitated by injury will be made by the head coach of the respective All-Star team.

Under WNBA guidelines, the coach of the previous season's conference champion serves as the All-Star coach for that conference, provided that the coach remains in the same position. Since Fred Williams – head coach of the 2013 Eastern Conference champion Atlanta Dream – is now at the helm in Tulsa, the East head coach – Atlanta’s Michael Cooper – was selected based on the club with the best winning percentage through games on June 29. Cooper earned the honor after guiding his club to an 11-4 mark (.733) at that point in the season. Minnesota Head Coach Cheryl Reeve, who guided the Lynx to the 2013 WNBA title, will lead the West squad.

Individual tickets for Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2014 start at just $20 and can be purchased online at, through Ticketmaster, by dialing 800-745-3000, or at the US Airways Center Ticket Office. For every All-Star Game ticket sold, the Mercury will donate $1 to its “All-Stars and Stripes” program benefiting local military heroes and their families.

Next Home Game: The Fever host Katie Douglas and the Connecticut Sun for Kids Day on Thursday, July 10th with a special noon tip time. Good seats still remain -- reserve your seats today! Find Tickets »