Dunn to be Inducted into Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame

News Release | November 12, 2009
One of the most successful women’s basketball coaches in the United States, Indiana Fever Head Coach Lin Dunn has been named as one of 11 inductees into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame. Dunn will be enshrined during induction ceremonies on February 19, 2010, at the Renaissance Hotel in Nashville.

A native of Dresden, Tenn., Dunn attended Dresden High School before venturing to the University of Tennessee-Martin where she graduated with degrees in physical education and English. She received a graduate degree from UT-Knoxville in 1970 prior to embarking on a coaching career that has spanned 39 years.

“I am honored to be selected for the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame,” said Dunn. “As a native Tennessean and a graduate of UTM and UTK, it is a privilege to join so many outstanding athletes and coaches that are already in the Hall of Fame. I began my coaching career in 1970 at Austin Peay and I still remember those players from the first teams I coached in basketball, volleyball and tennis!”

Advancing beyond her Tennessee roots, Dunn led the Fever within one game of a WNBA Championship last October. She has completed five seasons as head coach in the WNBA, twice finishing as runner-up for WNBA Coach of the Year. A former coach of the year in the ABL (1997), she guided the Fever to its finest season ever in 2009, boasting a 22-12 regular season mark before driving Indiana into the WNBA Finals. Dunn has led the Fever to back-to-back playoff appearances.

As a college coach, Dunn’s 447-257 (.635) record in 25 seasons culminated with nine seasons at Purdue. She built the program into a national powerhouse, guiding the Boilermakers to three Big Ten Conference titles and seven NCAA Tournament appearances. The Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1989 and 1991, she led the Boilers to four Sweet 16 appearances and a trip to the Final Four in 1994. Since beginning her coaching career at Austin Peay in 1970, she guided programs at Mississippi and Miami (Fla.) before landing at Purdue. She left three of those schools – Purdue, Miami and Austin Peay – as the winningest coach in school history.

Nationally, she has served on USA Basketball staffs for the 1992 Olympics and 1990 gold-medal winning World Championship and Goodwill Games teams. She also served eight years on the USA Basketball Team selection committee.

Other inductees in the 2010 class of the Tennesee Sports Hall of Fame include Rocky Felker (football), E.J. Junior (football), Ted Rhodes, posthumous (golf), John Stanford (baseball), John R. Hall (football), Dale Ellis (basketball), Charlie Coffey (football), Bill Dupes (football), Norman “Turkey” Stearnes, posthumous (baseball) and Harley “Skeeter” Swift (basketball).

Additional honorees at the annual banquet will include state recipients for male and female amateur athlete of the year, and professional athletes of the year. Tickets for the awards banquet and induction ceremony are available from the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame for $125. For more information on the event, call the TSHF office at (612) 242-4750 or email tnsports@bellsouth.net.