All-Star 3 Pack Ticket Package Established to Honor Record Fever Participation in WNBA’s Midsummer Classic

New Release | July 14, 2009 | All-Star 3 Pack Ticket Package

As part of 2009 WNBA All-Star Balloting presented by T-Mobile, Indiana Fever stars Tamika Catchings and Katie Douglas have been voted as starters for the 2009 WNBA All-Star Game. In nationwide fan balloting, Catchings led all WNBA players with 94,316 votes. Catchings and Douglas each led their respective positions in votes among East All-Stars, with Douglas’ 65,911 votes third among East players overall.

It is the second time that Catchings has led the WNBA in All-Star balloting, pacing the field in 2006 also. For Douglas, who is a three-time All-Star and the All-Star MVP in 2006, it is her first selection as a starter. It also is the second time in Fever history that two Indiana players have been voted as East starters. Catchings and Anna DeForge were chosen as starters in 2007, with Tammy Sutton-Brown chosen as a reserve. Sutton-Brown remains a likely candidate to be named as a reserve this season, finishing third in voting among East centers and posting one of her best seasons.

Remaining spots on the East and West All-Star rosters are determined in voting by league coaches and will be named Monday, July 20. The 2009 WNBA All-Star Game will be nationally televised on ABC on Saturday, July 25 (3:30 p.m. ET), from Connecticut’s Mohegan Sun Arena. The East team will be coached by Fever coach Lin Dunn and assistant coaches Jim Lewis and Gary Kloppenburg. Fever trainer Craig Stull will handle medical needs for the East All-Star Team.

To help honor the largest Fever contingent ever to participate in the WNBA All-Star Game, the Fever is offering an All-Star 3 Pack in which fans may purchase a minimum of two tickets, for three upcoming games of their choice, with a savings off the single-game price. Visit for pricing and details.

Catchings, a six-time All-Star, has finished balloting as the East’s leading vote-getter in 2005, 2006 and 2009. She is currently averaging 13.7 points, 6.3 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 3.1 steals per game. Douglas currently leads the Fever with 16.4 points per game, while averaging 3.3 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.6 steals.

The Fever sits atop the Eastern Conference with a 9-2 record while maintaining a franchise mark with nine straight wins. Indiana seeks a record 10th straight victory, and distinction as one of just four WNBA franchises ever to stretch a win streak to 10 games, when it hosts the Chicago Sky on Wednesday, July 15 (1:00 p.m.).

2009 WNBA All-Star Balloting presented by T-Mobile:


Forwards: Tamika Catchings (Ind) 94,316; Candice Dupree (Chi) 59,949; Marissa Coleman (Wash) 48,499; Shemeka Christon (NY) 48,129; Ebony Hoffman (Ind) 46,472; Chamique Holdsclaw (Atl) 41,602; Asjha Jones (Conn) 40,382; Cathrine Kraayeveld (NY) 38,879; Nakia Sanford (Wash) 31,623; Chen Nan (Chi) 31,272; Taj McWilliams (Det) 31,053; Amber Holt (Conn) 25,044; Angel McCoughtry (Atl) 24,839; Plenette Pierson (Det) 20,016; Erika de Souza (Atl) 15,413.

Centers: Sylvia Fowles (Chi) 71,487; Janel McCarville (NY) 56,770; Tammy Sutton-Brown (Ind) 47,724; Chasity Melvin (Wash) 39,750; Cheryl Ford (Det) 31,264; Tamika Whitmore (Conn) 29,469; Michelle Snow (Atl) 25,110.

Guards: Katie Douglas (Ind) 65,911; Alana Beard (Wash) 64,237; Lindsay Whalen (Conn) 55,901; Tully Bevilaqua (Ind) 53,123; Lindsey Harding (Wash) 48,437; Deanna Nolan (Det) 46,776; Katie Smith (Det) 43,932; Jia Perkins (Chi) 41,433; Loree Moore (NY) 40,966; Essence Carson (NY) 39,484; Kristi Toliver (Chi) 38,878; Erin Phillips (Conn) 33,631; Nikki Teasley (Atl) 23,417.


Forwards: Lauren Jackson (Sea) 88,685; Swin Cash (Sea) 78,477; Sophia Young (SA) 72,324; Cappie Pondexter (Phx) 70,393; Tina Thompson (LA) 62,206; Erin Perperoglou (SA) 60,375; DeLisha Milton-Jones (LA) 43,812; DeWanna Bonner (Phx) 42,805; Seimone Augustus (Min) 39,547; Rebekkah Brunson (Sac) 21,933; Nicole Powell (Sac) 20,889.

Centers: Lisa Leslie (LA) 80,748; Ruth Riley (SA) 75,412; Janell Burse (Sea) 48,762; Nicky Anosike (Min) 41,572; Tangela Smith (Phx) 38,864; DeMya Walker (Sac) 20,671.

Guards: Becky Hammon (SA) 88,991; Sue Bird (Sea) 88,591; Diana Taurasi (Phx) 75,263; Vickie Johnson (SA) 62,736; Betty Lennox (LA) 57,524; Candace Parker (LA) 40,600; Temeka Johnson (Phx) 40,434; Candice Wiggins (Min) 32,581; Kara Lawson (Sac) 28,825; Renee Montgomery (Min) 27,896; Kelly Miller (Min) 25,016; Ticha Penicheiro (Sac) 24,497; Tanisha Wright (Sea) 18,080.