Catchings All-WNBA for Fourth Straight Season

News Release | September 18, 2005
Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings finished third in voting for the 2005 WNBA MVP award and was third in All-WNBA balloting by a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Catchings collected All-WNBA honors for the fourth straight season, earning recognition on the All-WNBA Second Team presented by Bud Light while leading vote-getters Sheryl Swoopes and Lauren Jackson nabbed both spots on the first team.

For the fifth time in her career, the Houston's Swoopes occupied one of the forward spots on the 2005 All-WNBA First Team presented by Bud Light. The 2005 WNBA MVP tallied more votes than any other player, followed by Jackson and Catchings.

Jackson is a three-time honoree and her Seattle teammate, Sue Bird, occupied one of the backcourt spots for the fourth time in her four-year career. The Detroit Shock’s Deanna Nolan earned her first appearance on the First Team. Rounding out the First Team was the Sacramento Monarchs’ center Yolanda Griffith, a two-time First Team performer.

The 2005 All-WNBA Second Team presented by Bud Light features five All-Stars, including Catchings and nine-time All-WNBA center Lisa Leslie. Taj McWilliams-Franklin from Connecticut was the other forward, with New York Liberty guard Becky Hammon and the Phoenix Mercury’s Diana Taurasi comprising the backcourt.

Each All-WNBA player will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy. In addition, Bud Light will present $10,000 to each member of the First Team and $5,000 to each member of the Second Team.

Players named to the 2005 All-WNBA First and Second Teams were selected, by position, from a panel of national sportswriters and broadcasters, with First Team votes receiving five points and Second Team votes receiving three votes.

Below are the complete results of the 2005 WNBA Rookie of the Year voting:


Position Player, Team Total Points
Forward Sheryl Swoopes, Houston Comets 233
Forward Lauren Jackson, Seattle Storm 223
Guard Deanna Nolan, Detroit Shock 169
Guard Sue Bird, Seattle Storm 142
Center Yolanda Griffith, Sacramento Monarchs 164


Position Player, Team Points
Forward Tamika Catchings, Indiana Fever 205
Forward Taj McWilliams-Franklin, Connecticut Sun 127
Guard Becky Hammon, New York Liberty 126
Guard Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury 124
Center Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks 106

Other players receiving votes:
Forwards – Chamique Holdsclaw, Los Angeles Sparks (104), Cheryl Ford, Detroit Shock (15), DeMya Walker, Sacramento Monarchs (9), Nicole Powell, Sacramento Monarchs (3).
Guards – Lindsay Whalen, Connecticut Sun (118), Nykesha Sales, Connecticut Sun (91), Alana Beard, Washington Mystics (15), Ticha Penicheiro, Sacramento Monarchs (8), Janeth Arcain, Houston Comets (3).
Center – Michelle Snow, Houston Comets (9), Ann Wauters, New York Liberty (6).