2007 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament Tickets On Sale

News Release | February 1, 2007
INDIANAPOLIS – Single-session tickets for the 2007 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament presented by Xbox 360 will go on sale to the general public on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2007 at 10 a.m. EST. The 2007 tournament features all 11 Big Ten teams, battling in 10 games over four days of competition. The 2007 winner will earn the conference’s coveted automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

The single-session tickets ($12-16) will be available at all Ticketmaster outlets, including the Conseco Fieldhouse box office, Ticketmaster charge-by-phone numbers (317-239-5151 in central Indiana) and www.ticketmaster.com. All-session tickets ($65) remain on sale.

The Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament has attracted more than 30,000 fans for each of the last five events. In 2006, the Big Ten set an overall tournament attendance record with 38,638 spectators and a session average of 7,728 fans. The 2004 championship game, also held at Conseco Fieldhouse, was played in front of a single-session record of 9,417 fans. In the past 12 years of Big Ten Tournament play, the conference has welcomed more than 353,000 fans. Six different conference representatives have become tournament champions. Purdue leads all teams with five titles followed by two championships for both Iowa and Penn State and single titles for Indiana, Michigan State and defending champion Ohio State.

This year’s tournament will mark the 12th time in 13 years that the Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament will be held in Indianapolis. The tournament will take place on March 1, 2, 4 & 5, 2007 at Conseco Fieldhouse in downtown Indianapolis. The bracket for the 2007 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament, along with information on tickets, travel, lodging, tournament history and more can be found at both bigten.org and indianasportscorp.com.

The Big Ten Conference is an association of 11 world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in student-athletes’ lives and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. Big Ten universities provide in excess of $89 million in athletic scholarship aid to more than 8,400 men and women student-athletes who compete for 25 championships, 12 for men and 13 for women. Conference institutions sponsor broad-based athletic programs with more than 270 teams. For more information, visit bigten.org.

Indiana Sports Corporation (ISC), a private not-for-profit entity, has a focused and critical purpose – attract and bring to Indiana marquee sporting events in a first-class manner. Since 1979, we’ve done just that:

  • Attracting and helping stage more than 400 national and international sporting events to Indiana, generating more than $3 billion in direct economic impact;
  • Convincing 10 elite national sports organizations to move their headquarters to Indianapolis, including the NCAA, which in total contribute $91 million annually to the Indiana economy; and
  • Impacting tens of thousands of Indiana youth each year with convincing messages and real-life examples showing healthy lifestyle choices, character and leadership development.
    For more information, visit indianasportscorp.com.