Catchings, Bevilaqua Named To WNBA’s 2006 All-Defensive Team

August 17, 2006 | News Release

Tamika Catchings, left, and Tully Bevilaqua pride themselves on being two of the top defensive players in the WNBA.
Frank McGrath/PSE Photo
New York – Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, the league’s Defensive Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons, led the voting for the 2006 WNBA All-Defensive Teams announced by the WNBA today.

Catchings, a second-time First Team honoree, received 25 out of a possible 28 points, while Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie followed closely behind with 23 points. Leslie makes her first appearance on the First Team after occupying a spot on the Second Team last year.

Rounding out the First Team for the second consecutive year are Houston Comets forward Sheryl Swoopes (19 points), Connecticut Sun guard Katie Douglas (17 points) and Indiana Fever guard Tully Bevilaqua (17 points).

Swoopes was named the league’s top defender in 2000, 2002 and 2003, while Leslie took home the honor in 2004.

The WNBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of Washington Mystics guard Alana Beard (15 points), Connecticut Sun center Margo Dydek (11 points), Detroit Shock guard Deanna Nolan (10 points), Detroit Shock forward Cheryl Ford (10 points) and Sacramento Monarchs forward Yolanda Griffith (8 points). It is a first time appearance for both Dydek and Ford.

The second annual WNBA All-Defensive Team was voted on by a panel of the WNBA’s 14 head coaches, who selected First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

Below are the results for the 2006 WNBA All-Defensive Teams:

2006 WNBA All-Defensive First Team

Player Team Position Points
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever Forward 25
Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks Center 23
Sheryl Swoops Houston Comets Forward 19
Katie Douglas Connecticut Sun Guard 17
Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever Guard 17

2006 WNBA All-Defensive Second Team

Player Team Position Points
Alana Beard Washington Mystics Guard 15
Margo Dydek Connecticut Sun Center 11
Deanna Nolan Detroit Shock Guard 10
Cheryl Ford Detroit Shock Forward 10
Yolanda Griffith Sacramento Monarchs Forward 8

Featuring 14 teams and the greatest female basketball players from around the world, the WNBA is the longest-running and most successful women’s professional team sports league in U.S. history. The 2006 WNBA Playoffs tip off on August 17 and complete coverage will be provided by ABC, ESPN2 and NBA TV through the conference finals. The 2006 WNBA Finals will be televised on ESPN2. For more information, please visit