-- de Souza Finishes Second in Defensive Player of the Year Voting --

ATLANTA, September 25, 2009— Dream guard/forward Angel McCoughtry and forward Sancho Lyttle were named to the 2009 WNBA All-Defensive Second Team, the league announced today. Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings was named the WNBA Defensive Player of the Year presented by Kia Motors.

Catchings, a three-time WNBA Defensive Player of the Year (2005, 2006 and 2009), also headlines the 2009 WNBA All-Defensive Team. Catchings collected 24 points from the league’s 13 coaches while Minnesota center/forward Nicky Anosike finished second with 13 points and Seattle Storm forward/center Lauren Jackson, the 2007 Defensive Player of the Year, garnered 12 points. Storm guard Tanisha Wright (10 points) and Fever guard Tully Bevilaqua (nine points) round out the All-Defensive First Team.

The WNBA All-Defensive Second Team comprises Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie (10 points), Atlanta Dream forwards Sancho Lyttle and Angel McCoughtry (nine points each), Detroit Shock guard Deanna Nolan, Washington Mystics guard Alana Beard and Sparks guard/forward Candace Parker (eight points each).

Lyttle and McCoughtry, the only rookie on either team, each were named to their first All-Defensive Team. Dream center Erika de Souza finished second in voting (tied with Sparks forward Candace Parker) for Defensive Player of the Year.

A panel of the WNBA’s 13 head coaches voted on the WNBA All-Defensive Team, selecting First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Players earned two points for each First Team vote and one point for a Second Team vote.