Adubato, Chancellor to Coach All-Stars

NEW YORK, June 10 — Richie Adubato of the New York Liberty and Van Chancellor of the Houston Comets will serve as head coaches for the 2001 WNBA All-Star Game, marking the second consecutive All-Star appearance for each. Adubato will once again lead the Eastern Conference All-Stars, and Chancellor will lead the Western Conference team for the third straight year.

The 2001 WNBA All-Star Game, hosted by the Miracle and the city of Orlando, will be played at the TD Waterhouse Centre on July 16, and will be televised nationally on ESPN beginning at 8 p.m. ET.

The coaches were selected based on their respective teams' finishes as conference champions during the 2000 season. Chancellor guided Houston to its fourth consecutive WNBA Championship after finishing the regular season with a 27-5 record. Adubato led New York to a 20-12 regular-season record and a trip to the 2000 WNBA Championship, where they were defeated by the Comets.

Adubato will be accompanied to the All-Star Game by his assistants, Pat Coyle and Jeff House, and Chancellor will be accompanied by Houston assistants Kevin Cook and Alisa Scott.

The 2000 WNBA All-Star Game, held at America West Arena in Phoenix, drew 17,717 fans as Chancellor and the Western Conference All-Stars defeated Adubato and the Eastern Conference squad 73-61. Tina Thompson of the Houston Comets was named the Most Valuable Player. The Inaugural WNBA All-Star Game was held in Madison Square Garden in 1999. Lisa Leslie was the MVP after leading the West, led by Chancellor, to a 79-61 victory over the East, coached by then-Cleveland head coach Linda Hill-MacDonald.