Buy Tickets

Select a team below to purchase tickets.

Select Team

Twenty years, eight title teams, one four-peat, three three-time champs, one back-to-back and two single titles.

With the WNBA’s 20th season in the books, take a look back at the league’s history shows multiple periods of dominance over the past two decades. And it all started in Houston.

Year By Year Champions


The Unstoppable: Houston won the league’s first four championships behind the Big Three of Cynthia Cooper, Sheryl Swoopes and Tina Thompson. The Comets amassed a 98-24 (.803) regular season record and 16-2 (.889) playoff record in those four seasons – a combined mark of 114-26 (.814).


The Breakthrough: After falling to Houston in back-to-back playoffs, the Los Angeles Sparks finally ended the Comets’ reign and went on to win back-to-back titles of their own behind MVP Lisa Leslie and Co.


Worst to First: L.A.’s hope for a three-peat was thwarted by the Detroit Shock, who became the first team in American pro sports to go from having the worst record in the league (9-23 in 2002) to champions the following season. The Shock would go on to win three titles in six years under the leadership of head coach Bill Laimbeer.


The Dynamic Duo: Seattle landed back-to-back No. 1 picks in the draft in 2001 and ’02 and by 2004, the combo of Lauren Jackson and Sue Bird led Seattle to its first of two WNBA titles.


Desert Heat: Of the four teams that have won three titles, the eight-year span between Phoenix’s first title (2007) and most recent (2014) is the largest. The constant for all three titles is the brilliant Diana Taurasi; the first two came alongside Cappie Pondexter and the third with Britney Griner in the middle.


The Final Piece: Tamika Catchings owns one of the greatest resumes in WNBA history – Rookie of the Year, MVP, multiple Defensive Player of the Year, All-WNBA and All-Star honors – but it wasn’t until 2012, in her 11th WNBA season, that she finally captured the WNBA title for Indiana.


Maya Magic: What do you get when you add Rookie of the Year Maya Moore to a team that already has Seimone Augustus and Linsday Whalen? You get the first of three championships for the Minnesota Lynx, who have won the title in every odd numbered year in the 2010s.


Year Champion Runner Up MVP
2016 Los Angeles Sparks Minnesota Lynx Candace Parker
2015 Minnesota Lynx Indiana Fever Sylvia Fowles
2014 Phoenix Mercury Chicago Sky Diana Taurasi
2013 Minnesota Lynx Atlanta Dream Maya Moore
2012 Indiana Fever Minnesota Lynx Tamika Catchings
2011 Minnesota Lynx Atlanta Dream Seimone Augustus
2010 Seattle Storm Atlanta Dream Lauren Jackson
2009 Phoenix Mercury Indiana Fever Diana Taurasi
2008 Detroit Shock San Antonio Silver Stars Katie Smith
2007 Phoenix Mercury Detroit Shock Cappie Pondexter
2006 Detroit Shock Sacramento Monarchs Deanna Nolan
2005 Sacramento Monarchs Connecticut Sun Yolanda Griffin
2004 Seattle Storm Connecticut Sun Betty Lennox
2003 Detroit Shock Los Angeles Sparks Ruth Riley
2002 Los Angeles Sparks New York Liberty Lisa Leslie
2001 Los Angeles Sparks Charlotte Sting Lisa Leslie
2000 Houston Comets New York Liberty Cynthia Cooper
1999 Houston Comets New York Liberty Cynthia Cooper
1998 Houston Comets Phoenix Mercury Cynthia Cooper
1997 Houston Comets New York Liberty Cynthia Cooper